
- Amount
- up to R8 000from R500
Compare all 9 lenders and choose your loan
What Wonga offers
What Wonga states about its loans on our Wonga page (checked 7 Oct 2026, from its own site):
- Amount: R500 to R8 000. New customers can borrow up to R5 000 with up to 3 months to repay; existing customers up to R8 000 with up to 6 months.
- Term: from 4 days to 6 months.
- Example of cost: the total price of a R4 000 personal loan over 6 months is R5 811.78, Wonga’s own representative example.
- Registration: Wonga Online (Pty) Ltd, company no. 2019/167500/07, NCRCP12875, shown as Registered in the NCR register on 7 Oct 2026.
That is the profile to match: a small online loan, repaid in instalments over a few months, from a registered lender.
Three questions narrow the field before you compare anything. How much do you need, and is it above the limit for a first loan? How long do you need to repay: a few days, which suits a short-term loan, or several months, which suits an instalment loan? And do you need the money on a weekend, when only some lenders pay to an eWallet? The table answers all three at a glance.
Lenders similar to Wonga
Thirteen lenders, with Wonga as the point of reference. The rest are ordered by the highest amount, then by name. It is not a ranking. “Not stated” means the lender’s pages that we read do not say. Cards checked 7 and 25 Oct 2026; Kredio and Cashgist from their websites and the NCR register on 27 Oct 2026.
| Lender | Amount | Term | Payout | NCR number |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wonga | R500 to R8 000 (new customers up to R5 000) | 4 days to 6 months | Not stated on our card | NCRCP12875 |
| Unifi Apply at Kredio | Up to R24 000 (first loan up to R12 000) | 3 to 9 months | Not stated on our card | NCRCP4849 |
| FASTA Apply at Creditbar | Up to R15 000 | 1 to 6 months | Not stated on our card | NCRCP10591 |
| Boodle Apply at JabulaniMoney | Up to R8 000 (new customers up to R5 000) | 1 to 6 months | Not stated on our card | NCRCP5361 |
| Century Apply | R500 to R8 000 | Up to 180 days | Bank account, after the DebiCheck mandate | NCRCP20790 |
| Crediwise Apply | R500 to R8 000 | Not published | Bank account or eWallet (instant, any day) | NCRCP22496 |
| Kredio Apply | R500 to R8 000 | Set in your quotation | Bank account, within 15 minutes after signing | NCRCP24149 |
| Lime24 | R500 to R8 000 | 5 to 90 days | Not stated on our card | NCRCP8077 |
| Primeloans Apply | R500 to R8 000 (first loan up to R4 000) | Not published | Bank account or eWallet (instant, any day) | NCRCP20937 |
| Creditbar Apply | R500 to R5 000 | 7 to 61 days | Bank account | NCRCP23238 |
| Cashgist Apply | R500 to R4 000 | 5 to 40 days | Bank account or eWallet (instant, any day) | NCRCP22122 |
| LendPlus Apply | R500 to R4 000 | Not published | Bank account or eWallet (instant, any day) | NCRCP17814 |
| Sunshine Loans | R500 to R4 000 | 4 to 49 days | Not stated on our card | NCRCP14110 |
Unifi and Boodle are the closest to Wonga on amount and term. Unifi has its own conditions: South African citizens over 20 in formal employment, salary paid monthly into a bank account at a listed bank. The online lenders with a payout channel on the table state a bank account; Cashgist, Crediwise, LendPlus and Primeloans add an eWallet. Lenders registered more recently are in new loan companies in South Africa, and every lender’s terms are in our A to Z list of loan companies in South Africa.
Apply for a loan online in South Africa
See all 9 lendersHighest amount on the list: up to R8 000
- Amount
- up to R8 000from R500
See terms
- Source of the terms
- kredio.co.za · 27 Oct 2026
- Registration
- NCRCP24149 · NCR register
- Application and payout
- decision in 15 min or less · applications 24/7, according to the lender
- Amount
- up to R5 000from R500
- Term
- up to 61 daysfrom 7 days
See terms
- Source of the terms
- creditbar.co.za · 25 Oct 2026
- Registration
- NCRCP23238 · NCR register
- Application and payout
- applications 24/7, according to the lender

JabulaniMoney
How to choose between them
Price is the real difference, and a rate on its own tells you little because each lender adds fees. The only like-for-like figure is the total you repay in rand for your amount and term, in the quotation. To see how far totals can differ, here are the examples that four lenders publish themselves. They use different amounts and terms, so they are not directly comparable:
| Lender | Published example | Total repayable | Total as a share of the amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wonga | R4 000 over 6 months | R5 811.78 | about 145% |
| Boodle | R6 000 over 6 months at 3% a month, with initiation fee, service fee and credit life | R7 890 | about 132% |
| Unifi | R8 000 over 6 months | R10 344 | about 129% |
| FASTA | R15 000 over 6 months at an annual rate linked to prime (28.75%) | R18 418.25 | about 123% |
A bigger loan spreads fixed fees over more rand, so the share falls as the amount rises. The other lenders in the table do not publish an example; ask for the quotation for the same amount and term and compare totals. Check also the maximum amount for new customers, because several lenders offer a lower first-loan limit.
Next step: put your amount and term into the loan calculator with the rate from each quotation.
Terms that matter after the amount
Past the headline amount, five terms decide whether a loan suits you. What the lenders state:
- First-loan limit. Wonga, Boodle, Unifi and Primeloans lower the limit for new customers (Wonga R5 000, Boodle R5 000, Unifi R12 000, Primeloans R4 000). Kredio says its loans are for first-time and returning customers alike.
- Term. Wonga runs up to 6 months; Century up to 180 days; Unifi 3 to 9 months; FASTA and Boodle 1 to 6 months; Creditbar 7 to 61 days; Cashgist 5 to 40 days. Kredio sets the term in your quotation.
- Early repayment. Creditbar and Cashgist say early repayment carries no penalty; Kredio allows early settlement if you ask for the settlement amount at least three working days before the due date.
- Postponement. LendPlus lets you postpone if you apply in your account up to two days before the due date, by paying accrued interest and fees and signing a new agreement. Primeloans says prolongation is possible by paying the interest.
- Payout channel. A bank account at all of them; an eWallet at Cashgist, Crediwise, LendPlus and Primeloans.
Put the totals from your quotations next to these terms. A cheaper total over a term you cannot carry is not cheaper.
Checks before you switch
Before you switch, check three things. First, the number: the lender’s NCRCP number should match its legal name in the NCR register of credit providers; every lender in the table shows it on its page with the check date. Second, the quotation: you must receive the amount, term, interest, fees and total before you sign. Third, the exits: early settlement is allowed with registered lenders, and some lenders offer a postponement for a new fee, so ask for the new total in writing before you accept.
If you already have a Wonga loan, do not take a second loan to repay the first without comparing totals: a new initiation fee adds to the cost. For several debts at once, see debt consolidation loans.
For the longer checklist, and for what an unregistered lender may not do, read how to check that a lender is legit.
If Wonga declined you
A decline does not name a single cause. Wonga’s decision is its own, so ask Wonga for the reason: a registered lender must give you the main reason on request, and if an adverse report was behind it, the name of the bureau. Then check what the bureau shows: how to check your credit score.
Other lenders read an application differently. Creditbar and Kredio both say that a low score does not automatically disqualify an applicant; the others in the table do not say. See loans for bad credit for the documents each one asks for, and do not send applications to many lenders at once: each leaves an enquiry on your report for up to a year. If a smaller amount or a shorter term would still do the job, try that first: the lender’s affordability check has less to object to.
Ready to compare? Compare online loans in South Africa by amount and term, then apply on the lender’s site.
FAQ
Is there a loan like Wonga for blacklisted people?
Some online lenders say a low score does not automatically disqualify an applicant: Creditbar and Kredio state it on their sites. Wonga’s page and the other lenders in the table do not say. Each lender assesses affordability and your record, so no yes can be promised. See loans for blacklisted people.
Which is cheaper than Wonga?
We cannot say without your amount and term. The lenders publish different examples, and most publish no rate. On the examples they do publish, the total repayable ranges from about 123% to about 145% of the amount, but the amounts and terms differ. Compare quotations for the same amount and term.
Is Wonga legit?
Wonga Online (Pty) Ltd is registered with the National Credit Regulator as NCRCP12875, shown as Registered in the NCR register of credit providers on 7 Oct 2026. Check the status yourself in the register: search the legal name or the number.
Important information
Wonga’s, Unifi’s, FASTA’s, Boodle’s, Lime24’s and Sunshine Loans’ details are from our lender cards (checked 7 Oct 2026), which cite each company’s own site; the other lenders’ from our cards of 25 Oct 2026 and the Kredio and Cashgist websites of 27 Oct 2026. Totals as a share of the amount are our arithmetic on each lender’s published example. Tasamira is not affiliated with Wonga; the comparison names Wonga only as the reference.
- Kredio: terms from the lender’s website, as of 27 Oct 2026

