Cash loans in South Africa: what urgent and small loans really cost

Tasamira editorial team · data checked on 3 Nov 2026

Need a small cash loan? Compare loans of R500 to R8 000 by amount, term and payout, see what R2 000 costs over two months and apply with the lender that fits.more
KredioKredio
Amount
up to R8 000from R500

What counts as a cash loan

You can compare amounts and terms on the online loans list. First, where a cash loan fits in the law.

The National Credit Act sorts every credit agreement by size. It is a small agreement if the principal debt is at or below R15 000, an intermediate agreement between R15 000 and R250 000, and a large agreement from R250 000 up (Act, section 9; thresholds in Notice 713 of 2006). A cash loan of R500 to R8 000 is therefore a small agreement.

Inside that group sits a narrower category with its own price limits: the “short term credit transaction”. Regulation 39 defines it as a loan of no more than R8 000 at the start, repayable in full within six months, where the money is paid out for you to use as you choose. Pawn transactions are included. The category sets the ceilings that matter for cost:

  • interest: 5% a month on the first loan and 3% a month on later loans within a calendar year, shown to you as a monthly rate (regulation 42, Table A);
  • initiation fee: R165 plus 10% of the amount above R1 000, never more than R1 050, and never more than 15% of the principal debt (regulation 42, Table B, and regulation 43(3));
  • service fee: the NCR’s January 2024 media release gives the monthly maximum as R60.

The rule text we read is the Acts Online version, which carries amendment notes up to 2015. Check the current figures with the National Credit Regulator, and use the quotation your lender gives you as the final word.

The names people use for neighbouring products are not separate legal types:

Want to see the amounts side by side? Compare cash loans and filter by amount and days.

How much can you borrow: from R500 to R8 000

What each lender writes on its own site, as recorded on our cards on 18 to 20 Oct 2026. The table is ordered by the highest amount, then alphabetically. It is not a ranking. “Not stated” means the pages we read do not say.

LenderAmountTermDecision (lender’s statement)Payout
Century
Apply
R500 to R8 000Up to 180 daysSame-day decision and payout aimed forBank account, after the DebiCheck mandate
Crediwise
Apply
R500 to R8 000Not stated15 minutes to 2 hours in business hoursBank account or eWallet (instant, any day)
Primeloans
Apply
R500 to R8 000Not stated15 minutes to 2 hours in business hoursBank account or eWallet (instant, any day)
Creditbar
Apply
R500 to R5 0007 to 61 daysWithin minutes during business hoursBank account
LendPlus
Apply
R500 to R4 000Not statedNot statedBank account or eWallet (instant, any day)

All of them start at R500; the ceiling runs from R4 000 to R8 000, and R8 000 is also the limit of the short-term category in regulation 39. The comparison services on our loans page show wider ranges, up to R350 000 for some, but they are not lenders: they pass your application on, so read what the final lender offers.

Only two of these lenders state a term, and only Century publishes interest and fees (next sections). If term or price matters to you, ask the others for the quotation before you decide. The decision times are the lenders’ own statements and depend on their checks and on your bank. If you need the money to arrive on a weekend, see Primeloans: eWallet payout on any day, by its own site.

Need a short term? The Creditbar card shows loans from R500 with terms from 7 days, and the date we checked it.

Apply for a loan online in South Africa

See all 9 lenders
  • Highest amount on the list: up to R8 000

    Amount
    up to R8 000from R500
    See terms
    Source of the terms
    kredio.co.za · 27 Oct 2026
    Registration
    NCRCP24149 · NCR register
    Application and payout
    decision in 15 min or less · applications 24/7, according to the lender
    More about Kredio
  • Amount
    up to R5 000from R500
    Term
    up to 61 daysfrom 7 days
    See terms
    Source of the terms
    creditbar.co.za · 25 Oct 2026
    Registration
    NCRCP23238 · NCR register
    Application and payout
    applications 24/7, according to the lender
    More about Creditbar
  • JabulaniMoney

    JabulaniMoney

    Amount
    up to R4 000from R500
    See terms
    Source of the terms
    jabulanimoney.co.za · 29 Oct 2026

Compare cash loans before you apply

Compare the total you will repay in rand for your term, not the monthly rate or the headline amount alone. Three lenders to start with, in the default order of our list (not a quality ranking):

  • Creditbar: R500 to R5 000 for 7 to 61 days; says early repayment carries no penalties.
  • Crediwise: up to R8 000; says it can pay to an eWallet instantly on any day.
  • LendPlus: up to R4 000; lets you postpone if you apply in your account up to two days before the due date and pay the interest and fees accrued so far.

Applying costs nothing and happens on the lender’s own website. Before you accept, the lender must give you a pre-agreement statement and quotation with the total you will repay (section 92 of the Act). The lender decides, and a request is not a promise of a loan.

Pick your amount and days on the online loans list: lenders that do not offer them drop off.

What R2 000 over 2 months costs

Century is the only lender in the table above that publishes its charges (creditza.co.za, checked 18 Oct 2026): interest of 0.16% a day for a new client, about 4.8% a month; an initiation fee of R165 plus 10% of the amount above R1 000, plus VAT; a service fee of R69 a month, which equals the R60 maximum plus 15% VAT. Century’s pages give different values for term and rate in places, so the card records what we saw and when.

The same R2 000 for a new client at three terms. Method: the initiation fee (R265) is added to the loan, interest runs on the reducing balance at 4.8% a month, instalments are equal, the service fee is paid every month. The figures are indicative sums, not a quote.

R2 000, new client1 month2 months3 months
Initiation feeR265R265R265
InterestR109R164R221
Service fees (R69 a month)R69R138R207
Total to repay, before VAT on the initiation feeR2 443R2 567R2 693
Per monthR2 443 (one payment)about R1 284about R898
Fees and interest on top of R2 000about 22%about 28%about 35%

So R2 000 over two months costs about R567 on top of the loan, plus about R40 of VAT on the initiation fee, and the instalment is about R1 284. A longer term lowers the instalment and raises the total, because the service fee and the interest keep running. A repeat client at Century pays 0.1% a day, about 3% a month, which is the ceiling regulation 42 sets for later short-term loans in a calendar year; on the same method that brings the two-month total to about R2 505. If your quotation lets you pay the initiation fee separately and once off, no interest is charged on it (NCR, media release January 2024), which lowers the interest row.

Our payday, instant and short-term loans guides work through other amounts. Methods differ in small ways, for example whether the initiation fee carries interest, so compare the quotation itself and not only the guides.

Check the same sums on a real card. The Century card shows the fees used above, with the example calculated on its conditions of 18 Oct 2026.

Urgent does not mean unregistered: red flags

Speed says nothing about whether a lender is registered. Under the Act a person must apply to register as a credit provider once the total principal debt owed to them under outstanding agreements exceeds the threshold set under section 42(1) (section 40(1)), and that threshold is nil, R0 (Notice 513 of 2016). A credit agreement made when the lender was unregistered and should have been is unlawful (section 89(2)(d)), and the court or Tribunal then makes a just and equitable order, which can include declaring the agreement void from the start (section 89(5)). If you suspect your lender is unregistered, get advice before you stop paying.

The check takes two minutes: search the National Credit Regulator’s register of credit providers by the company name or the NCRCP number. On 7 Oct 2026 we found every lender in the table above as “Registered”: Creditbar NCRCP23238, Crediwise NCRCP22496, LendPlus NCRCP17814, Primeloans NCRCP20937 and Century NCRCP20790. Each card shows the number and the check date.

Red flags, most of them stated by the NCR itself:

  • a fee or “insurance” asked before the money is paid out (the NCR advises never paying an upfront fee);
  • a lender who keeps your ID or bank card until you repay (the NCR calls this practice illegal);
  • a request for your banking PIN or a one-time password;
  • a lender that exists only as a WhatsApp number or a social media page, often described as a “mashonisa”, an informal moneylender (see loan sharks and mashonisas);
  • a promise to lend to everyone, whatever your record.

Anyone can report a breach of the Act to the NCR (section 136). For what registered lenders really check, see our guide on what lenders check before they lend.

Start with registered lenders. The loans list shows each lender’s NCR number and check date.

What to try before you borrow

Borrowing costs money, and the Act asks the lender to check that you can afford it (section 80 on reckless credit, section 81 on the assessment). Options to weigh first:

  • Ask your employer whether it offers a salary advance. It may cost less than a loan, so compare the total you would pay.
  • Talk to the creditor you are about to miss. Lenders on our list publish ways to postpone, but each costs money: LendPlus allows a postponement applied for up to two days before the due date, if you pay the accrued interest and fees and sign a new agreement; Primeloans prolongs if you pay the interest.
  • If you already owe more than you can service, you can apply to a debt counsellor for debt review (section 86(1)). From the moment you apply you may not enter into new credit agreements, except a consolidation agreement (section 88(1)). What the law allows is in loans under debt review.

Do the sum yourself before you sign. Take your pay after tax, subtract rent, food, transport and every debit order you already have, and compare what is left with the instalment: on the table above, R2 000 over two months is about R1 284 a month. The Act sets no fixed share of income; the test is whether you can pay all your obligations on time (section 79).

If the debt is already several loans, our guide to debt consolidation loans explains when one new loan helps and when it only repeats the costs.

Test your budget first. Enter your amount and term in the loan calculator and compare the monthly figure with what you have left.

FAQ

What is a cash loan in South Africa?

A small, short loan of about R500 to R8 000 that you repay over days or months. “Cash loan” is not a legal term: in law it is a small agreement, and loans of up to R8 000 repayable within six months fall in the short-term category with its own interest and fee ceilings. See the online loans list for current amounts.

What is the smallest cash loan I can get?

On our cards, checked 18 to 20 Oct 2026, every lender in the comparison table starts at R500: Creditbar, Crediwise, LendPlus, Primeloans and Century. The terms differ; Creditbar states loans from 7 days. A lender may offer a new client less than its maximum.

Can I get a cash loan today?

It depends on the lender, the time of day, your bank and the lender’s checks. Crediwise and Primeloans say they decide within 15 minutes to 2 hours in business hours and can pay to an eWallet any day (see eWallet loans); Creditbar says it decides within minutes in business hours; Century aims for a same-day decision and payout. These are the lenders’ statements, not promises, and no lender can promise a yes in advance.

Is a cash loan the same as a payday loan?

Not exactly. “Payday loan” usually means one repayment on or soon after payday; a cash loan can also be repaid in instalments. Both can fall in the same short-term category. Our payday loans guide covers the one-payment case.

How do I know a cash lender is legal?

Look the company up in the NCR register of credit providers by name or NCRCP number. A lender that has to be registered and is not makes an unlawful agreement (section 89(2)(d)). Be wary of any lender that asks for money before paying out or holds your ID or bank card.

Important information

“Cash loan” is an everyday phrase, not a legal category. The guide shows where such loans sit under the National Credit Act, what the lenders in the table say about amounts, terms and payout (checked 18 to 20 Oct 2026), and how to tell a registered lender from an unregistered one. No lender can promise a yes in advance, and the quotation you receive is the number that counts.

  • Kredio: terms from the lender’s website, as of 27 Oct 2026

Sources

Methodology

Spotted an error? Tell us

KredioGet money