Loans for bad credit in South Africa: what changes when your score is low

Tasamira editorial team · data checked on 3 Nov 2026

Sometimes: Kredio and Creditbar say on their sites that a lower credit score does not automatically disqualify an applicant (27 and 29 Oct 2026), and JabulaniMoney says it runs credit checks but gives high priority to your current affordability (its FAQ, 29 Oct 2026). Each lender sets its own rules, none on our list publishes a minimum score, and none can promise approval. In our loan comparison, loans go up to R8 000 with terms of up to 6 months. Data as of 5 Nov 2026. Compare and apply online.more
KredioKredio
Amount
up to R8 000from R500

What “bad credit” means: score bands, not a blacklist

To see which lenders offer your amount and term, open the online loans list. First, what “bad credit” means.

“Bad credit” means a low score or negative entries on your credit report. It is not a legal status. The National Credit Act defines credit bureaus (section 1) and the Regulations limit how long records stay on file; neither creates a blacklist. “Blacklisted” is everyday language for a listing such as a judgment or a default. A score is one number that summarises the whole record, so you can have a low score without any listing. The listing question has its own guide: loans for blacklisted people.

Each bureau scores on its own scale, so a number from one bureau cannot be compared with a number from another. As an example, ClearScore, which is registered with the NCR as a credit bureau (NCRCB28), shows Experian scores from 0 to 740 and prints these bands (its website, checked 20 Oct 2026):

Experian scoreBand on ClearScore’s page
0 to 599Very poor
599 to 615Poor
616 to 633Fair
634 to 657Good
658 to 740Excellent

The number 599 appears in the first two rows on ClearScore’s page. ClearScore says lenders generally become more cautious below about 616 on this scale, and also that there is no “magic” score that gets you accepted, because lenders look at other factors such as income and debt. Treat the bands as a way to read your own report, not as a cut-off that any lender on our list has published.

Not sure where you stand? Get your free report first, then compare lenders that look at your whole application.

How lenders assess a low score

Section 81(2) of the Act says a lender must not enter into a credit agreement without first taking reasonable steps to assess your understanding of the risks and costs, your debt repayment history, and your existing financial means, prospects and obligations. Under section 80 an agreement is reckless if the lender did not assess you, or went ahead although the information showed that you would be over-indebted (section 79: unable to pay all your obligations on time). Your credit record is therefore one of three inputs, next to your income and the debt you already carry.

You have a duty too. Section 81(1) requires you to answer the lender’s questions fully and truthfully, and section 81(4) lets a lender use a wrong answer as a defence if it materially affected the assessment. List every debt.

What each of the five lenders on our list writes on its card (checked 18 and 19 Oct 2026). The table is in alphabetical order, not a ranking. “Not stated” means the lender’s pages that we read do not say; it does not mean the lender ignores your record.

LenderDocuments on the cardWhat the card says about your credit recordAmount and term
Century
Apply
SA ID, cellphone number, bank account details, last 3 months’ bank statements (3 salary deposits)Not statedUp to R8 000, up to 180 days
Creditbar
Apply
Valid SA ID, bank statements for the last 3 months, active phone number; SA citizen or permanent resident with a regular incomeBad credit does not automatically disqualify; a credit check is part of the assessmentR500 to R5 000, 7 to 61 days
Crediwise
Apply
Valid SA ID, last 3 months’ bank statements, cellphone numberNot statedUp to R8 000, term not stated
LendPlus
Apply
Valid SA ID, last 3 months’ bank statements, cellphone numberNot statedUp to R4 000, term not stated
Primeloans
Apply
ID number and a copy, last 3 bank statements and a payslip, proof of residence, cellphone numberNot statedUp to R8 000, term not stated

All five ask for bank statements, and of the five only Creditbar says anything about a weak record. Kredio, checked on its website on 27 Oct 2026, says the same: “A lower credit score doesn’t automatically disqualify you.” JabulaniMoney, which is not in the table, says it runs credit checks but gives high priority to your current affordability (its FAQ, 29 Oct 2026). Statements show your income, your debit orders and the loans you already repay, which is the “existing obligations” part of section 81(2). A low score next to statements with room after debit orders can read differently from a low score next to statements that are already stretched. That is a reading of the Act, not something any card promises.

Want to see how a lender describes its check? Read why Creditbar says bad credit does not automatically disqualify you: of the five cards, it is the only one that states how it treats a poor record.

Apply online with bad credit: what each lender asks for

Applying online is the same few steps at every lender in the table; the difference is the paperwork. The lenders are in alphabetical order; it is not a ranking. Cards checked 25 Oct 2026, Kredio and Cashgist from their websites on 27 Oct 2026.

LenderDocumentsMinimum ageWhat it says about your credit record
Cashgist
Apply
Valid SA ID; proof of steady income for the last 3 months (a bank statement showing 3 salary deposits); access to internet banking21Not stated; its help centre says a decline can follow from the affordability assessment or from information in your credit profile
CenturySA ID, cellphone number, bank account details, last 3 months’ statements (3 salary deposits)Not statedNot stated
CreditbarValid SA ID, 3 months’ statements, active phone number; SA citizen or permanent resident with a regular income18Bad credit does not automatically disqualify; a credit check is part of the assessment
CrediwiseValid SA ID, last 3 months’ statements, cellphone number18Not stated
Kredio
Apply
Valid SA ID; bank statement not older than 3 months; proof of steady income; active SA phone number18A lower score does not automatically disqualify you
LendPlusValid SA ID, last 3 months’ statements, cellphone number18Not stated
PrimeloansID number and copy, last 3 statements and a payslip, proof of residence, cellphone number18Not stated

The steps are the same everywhere: choose the amount, fill in the form, upload or share the statement, read the quotation, approve the DebiCheck debit order in your bank app and sign. Several lenders take the same application in an app: see loan apps in South Africa. Creditbar and Kredio say the statement is uploaded automatically, and Kredio names the banks it supports. Have your documents ready before you start; a missing statement is the usual reason for a delay.

No payslip? Only Primeloans lists one, so see no payslip? what lenders accept instead.

Apply for a loan online in South Africa

See all 9 lenders
  • Highest amount on the list: up to R8 000

    Amount
    up to R8 000from R500
    See terms
    Source of the terms
    kredio.co.za · 27 Oct 2026
    Registration
    NCRCP24149 · NCR register
    Application and payout
    decision in 15 min or less · applications 24/7, according to the lender
    More about Kredio
  • Amount
    up to R5 000from R500
    Term
    up to 61 daysfrom 7 days
    See terms
    Source of the terms
    creditbar.co.za · 25 Oct 2026
    Registration
    NCRCP23238 · NCR register
    Application and payout
    applications 24/7, according to the lender
    More about Creditbar
  • JabulaniMoney

    JabulaniMoney

    Amount
    up to R4 000from R500
    See terms
    Source of the terms
    jabulanimoney.co.za · 29 Oct 2026

What a 500 to 600 score means

A score in the 500s or low 600s sounds like one verdict, but the same number lands in different bands at different bureaus. Take 588:

  • On TransUnion’s scale (0 to 999) it falls in “Average”, which runs 583 to 613.
  • On the Experian bands ClearScore prints (0 to 740) it falls in “Very poor”, 0 to 599.
  • On the Nedbank Money app’s 520 to 730 scale, Nedbank calls 621 and above a good score, so 588 sits below its line.

That is why a single number means little without the bureau name and its scale. Check which bureau your score comes from, then read the bands for that bureau in what is a good credit score in South Africa. None of the lenders here publishes a minimum score, so a 588 is not an automatic no and a 650 is not an automatic yes.

Compare loans before you apply

Compare three things: the total you repay in rand, the term and the documents you can supply. Poor credit record? Pick a lender below, set your amount and term, and apply online:

  • Creditbar: R500 to R5 000 for 7 to 61 days; says a credit check is part of its assessment and that bad credit does not automatically disqualify.
  • Crediwise: up to R8 000; asks for your last 3 months’ bank statements.
  • JabulaniMoney: asks for a valid SA ID and your 3 most recent bank statements; runs credit checks but gives high priority to your current affordability (its FAQ, 29 Oct 2026).
  • LendPlus: up to R4 000; asks for your last 3 months’ bank statements.

Kredio (R500 to R8 000) says on its website that a lower credit score does not automatically disqualify you.

Applying costs nothing and happens on the lender’s own website. Before you accept, the lender must give you a pre-agreement statement and quotation with the total you will repay (section 92). For a small agreement you can ask the lender to sign at or below the quoted rate for five business days after the quotation, still subject to its assessment (section 92(3)).

Set your amount and days on the online loans list: lenders that do not offer them drop off the list.

What a loan costs when your score is low: R5 000 over 6 months

A low score does not lift the legal ceilings. For short-term credit (up to R8 000, repaid within six months; regulation 39) regulation 42 sets interest at no more than 5% a month on the first loan and 3% a month on later loans in the same calendar year, an initiation fee of R165 plus 10% of the amount above R1 000 (never more than R1 050), and the NCR gives the maximum monthly service fee as R60. Inside those ceilings the lender chooses the price. None of the five cards says that a low score raises the rate, so your quotation is where you see your price.

Century publishes its charges (creditza.co.za, checked 18 Oct 2026): interest of 0.16% a day for new clients, about 4.8% a month, and 0.1% a day for repeat clients, about 3%; an initiation fee of R165 plus 10% above R1 000, plus VAT; a service fee of R69 a month, which equals R60 plus 15% VAT. Century’s card does not say how it treats a weak credit record, so the example below only shows what published fees mean for R5 000. Method: the initiation fee (R565) is added to the loan, interest runs on the reducing balance, instalments are equal, the service fee is paid every month. Indicative sums, not a quote.

R5 0006 months at 3% a month6 months at 4.8%6 months at 5% (ceiling)3 months at 4.8%
Initiation feeR565R565R565R565
InterestR599R971R1 013R543
Service fees (R69 a month)R414R414R414R207
Total to repay, before VAT on the initiation feeR6 578R6 950R6 992R6 315
Per monthabout R1 096about R1 158about R1 165about R2 105
Fees and interest as a share of R5 00032%39%40%26%

VAT on the initiation fee adds about R85. Moving the rate from 3% to 5% a month adds about R415 over six months; halving the term to three months cuts about R635 at the same rate, but the monthly payment almost doubles. The NCR says a lender must offer you the option of paying the initiation fee separately and once off, and then charges no interest on it (media release, Jan 2024); on this example that saves about R100 of interest. A loan above R8 000 or longer than six months is not short-term credit: the interest ceiling for unsecured credit is the repo rate plus 21 percentage points a year, which is 28.25% with the repo rate at 7.25% (repo rate, in force since 25 Sep 2026).

See the same numbers for your amount. Open the Century card (the example uses its conditions on 18 Oct 2026) or try your own amount and term in the loan calculator.

Pre-approved and no-credit-history loans

Pre-approved. Banks use the word for offers they have prepared for existing customers. Nedbank says you may already have a loan offer waiting in the Money app (More, Notifications, For you) and adds that these offers are not available to everyone. FNB shows whether you are pre-approved for its Temporary Loan in its app or on *120*321#. Both are offers from the bank where you already have an account, still subject to an affordability check, and neither is open to everyone.

No credit history. A thin file gives a lender little to read. Nedbank says it does not look at the score alone: it also looks at how much you can afford and how you have handled loans and payments with other credit providers. With a short record, payslips or three months of clean bank statements carry more weight, and a small loan repaid on time starts a payment record, which Nedbank’s own guidance on building a score also notes. Do not take a loan only to build a score you do not need.

Creditbar and Kredio both say that a low score does not automatically disqualify an applicant. Neither says what it does with a missing record, so ask before you apply.

What helps and what does not

None of these is a promise of a yes. They are the things the assessment in section 81(2) can pick up:

  • a smaller amount and the shortest term your budget carries: the table above shows R5 000 over three months costing R635 less than over six;
  • bank statements that show a regular income, because all five lenders ask for three months of them;
  • one application at a time: an enquiry can stay on your record for a year, so a string of applications leaves a string of enquiries;
  • a correct report: you can inspect it free once in any 12 months at each bureau and dispute an entry, and the bureau must answer within 20 business days (section 72);
  • on-time payments from now on: the payment profile stays on the record for five years, so each good month counts for a long time.

And what does not help. Nobody can buy you a clean record: a bureau corrects wrong entries free of charge, so a company that sells “credit repair” has nothing to sell for a genuine error. The NCR’s advice is to never pay an upfront fee and never leave your ID or bank card with a credit provider, which it calls illegal. A fee asked before the money is paid out, whatever it is called, is a reason to stop. Applying to many lenders at once leaves many enquiries and does not change what each of them sees.

Step by step on reading and correcting your report: how to check your credit score. When you are ready, compare lenders by amount and term.

When a loan is the wrong tool

A loan makes things worse when the instalment leaves too little after rent, food and transport. The Act treats a consumer who cannot pay all obligations on time as over-indebted (section 79), and a lender that sees it must not lend (section 80). If you are in that position yourself, borrowing to pay another loan adds a new initiation fee on top of the old debt.

Several debts at once call for a different route. A registered debt counsellor can apply for debt review for you (section 86); what you may borrow during it is in loans under debt review. While you are under review, new credit agreements are barred, except a consolidation agreement (section 88(1)); the arrangement and its costs are in our guide to debt consolidation loans.

If you are already behind, talk to your creditor before the due date. Before going to court a lender must send you a written notice of the default and propose that you refer the agreement to a debt counsellor, the NCR or another body (section 129(1)), and you can remedy a default by paying the overdue amount plus the prescribed default charges and enforcement costs (section 129(3)). Anyone can complain to the National Credit Regulator about an alleged breach of the Act or about reckless credit (section 136).

Compare the options before you choose: online loans for a small short-term amount, debt consolidation when the problem is several debts.

FAQ

Which lenders give loans with bad credit in South Africa?

Creditbar says on its site that a lower credit score does not automatically disqualify an applicant, and JabulaniMoney says it runs credit checks but gives high priority to your current affordability (their FAQs, 29 Oct 2026). Kredio makes a similar statement (its website, 27 Oct 2026). The other lenders on our list (Cashgist, Century, Crediwise, LendPlus and Primeloans) do not say whether a low score is accepted. Each lender sets its own rules and none can promise approval; the loans list shows who offers your amount.

What credit score do I need for a loan in South Africa?

There is no single number. Bureaus use different scales, and none of the lenders on our list publishes a minimum score on its card (cards checked 18 to 27 Oct 2026). Ask the lender, or read the quotation and the reasons it gives if it declines; on request it must tell you the main reason in writing.

Can I get a loan if I am blacklisted?

That depends on the lender and the entry. Bad credit is not a blacklist: it usually means a low score. “Blacklisted” is everyday language for specific negative entries such as a judgment or a default, and the Act creates no list. What each means for lenders is in loans for blacklisted people.

Can I get a loan with bad credit in South Africa?

Sometimes. Each lender sets its own rules: Creditbar says on its site that a lower credit score does not automatically disqualify an applicant, and JabulaniMoney says it gives high priority to your current affordability (their FAQs, 29 Oct 2026). Kredio says something similar (its website, 27 Oct 2026), and the other lenders on our list, Cashgist among them, do not say that a low score is accepted. A registered lender must also check that you can afford the loan, so your income and existing debt count as much as your score. The decision is the lender’s and it cannot be promised in advance. The loans list shows who offers your amount.

Do bad credit loans cost more?

The ceilings in the Regulations are the same for everyone. Inside them a lender sets its price, so check the quotation. On Century’s published fees, R5 000 over six months costs between R6 578 and R6 992 depending on the monthly rate (3% to 5%), before VAT on the initiation fee; the table above has the working.

How can I improve my score before I apply?

Get your free report, dispute entries that are wrong, pay every instalment on time, keep card balances down and avoid several applications in a short time. The steps are in how to check your credit score.

Important information

A low score does not change the legal price ceiling. It changes what a lender is willing to offer: a smaller amount, a shorter term or a decline. Score bands: Experian bands as printed by ClearScore, checked 20 Oct 2026; the five lenders’ cards were checked on 18 and 19 Oct 2026; the cost example is R5 000 over six months on Century’s published fees. No lender can promise a yes in advance.

Kredio’s details are from its website on 27 Oct 2026; the Creditbar and JabulaniMoney statements quoted above from their FAQs on 29 Oct 2026; the other lenders’ from our cards (checked 25 Oct 2026). Score bands: TransUnion’s are from its education page (archived 11 Dec 2025), the Experian bands from ClearScore (20 Oct 2026) and Nedbank’s line from its blog (27 Oct 2026); each service sets its own.

  • Kredio: terms from the lender’s website, as of 27 Oct 2026

Sources

Methodology

Spotted an error? Tell us

KredioGet money