Loans like Capfin: other South African lenders compared by amount, term and documents

Tasamira editorial team · data checked on 4 Nov 2026

Capfin lends R1 000 to R50 000 over 6 to 24 months, and no lender in our list matches both. Kredio lends R500 to R8 000 and Crediwise up to R8 000, mostly over shorter terms; two comparison services reach higher limits. Below: amount, term, documents and cost, each with its source and date.more
KredioKredio
Amount
up to R8 000from R500

What Capfin offers: the profile to match

Capfin, a division of Pepkor Trading, sells an instalment loan: a large sum, repaid over many months, applied for online, by SMS or in a PEP or Ackermans store. Its own page shows both ends of the range. Here is what it states, in its words (4 Nov 2026), and the full profile is on the Capfin page.

What Capfin statesCapfin's own wordsPage and date
Amount and term“you can apply for loans of up to R50 000, repayable over 6 to 24 months”; the calculator runs from R1 000 to R50 000 in 6, 12 or 24 monthscapfin.co.za, 4 Nov 2026
How to apply“online (www.capfin.co.za), via SMS (33005), or visit any PEP or Ackermans store nationwide”Capfin FAQ, 4 Nov 2026
Documents“A valid SA ID, and either 3 latest payslips or 3 latest bank statements”Capfin FAQ, 4 Nov 2026
Who can apply“Must be permanently employed and earning a monthly salary”, a valid cellphone number, a bank account with one of seven banks and age 18 or olderCapfin FAQ, 4 Nov 2026
Payout“within 48 business hours after approval to your nominated bank account”Capfin FAQ, 4 Nov 2026
Rate“5% per month on your first loan (6 month loan) and 3% per month on subsequent loans per calendar year”Capfin application guide, 4 Nov 2026
Credit life“Credit life is mandatory for a Capfin loan at the time of application”Capfin FAQ, 4 Nov 2026
After a decline“You may reapply for a Capfin loan after 30 calendar days”Capfin FAQ, 4 Nov 2026

One detail on Capfin's site is inconsistent: one FAQ block mentions “6 or 12 month repayment terms”, while the home page, the guides and the calculator say 6 to 24 months, and the 24-month example sits next to it. We use 6 to 24 months.

Lenders similar to Capfin by amount and term

The first table puts the lenders from our list next to Capfin. Amount and term come from our comparison, so they follow the lenders' pages. Lenders without a published term show “not published”. It is not a ranking.

Amount and term

LenderAmountTerm
Capfin (for reference)up to R50 000 (calculator from R1 000)6 to 24 months
KredioR500 – R8 000set in your quotation
CrediwiseR500 – R8 000not published
CenturyR500 – R8 000up to 6 months
PrimeloansR500 – R8 000not published
CreditbarR500 – R5 0007–61 days
LendPlusR500 – R4 000not published
CashgistR500 – R4 0005–40 days

The closest lenders to Capfin by amount top out at R8 000, one sixth of Capfin's maximum, and none shows a term in months close to 24. If you need R20 000 over two years, this list does not have it; if you need R4 000, the comparison is fair.

Two comparison services show higher limits. MoneyHello shows up to R25 000 and Binixo up to R50 000. They are not lenders: they send your application to lenders on their list, and the lender that decides, with its own rate and fees, is named before you sign.

Apply for a loan online in South Africa

See all 9 lenders

Documents and income: Capfin against the rest

Capfin asks for a valid SA ID and either three payslips or three bank statements, and says you must be permanently employed. The lenders below ask for different things (cards checked 27 Oct to 1 Nov 2026):

LenderDocumentsIncome and eligibility
Krediovalid South African ID, bank statement not older than three months, proof of steady income, an active South African phone numbernot stated on the card
Crediwisevalid SA ID, latest three months' bank statements, valid cellphone numbernot stated on the card
CenturySA ID number, cellphone number, bank account details, latest three months' bank statements with three salary depositsnot stated on the card
PrimeloansID number and copy of ID, latest three bank statements and payslip, proof of residence, cellphone numbernot stated on the card
Creditbarvalid South African ID, bank statements for the last three months, active phone numberSouth African citizen or permanent resident, regular source of income
LendPlusvalid SA ID, latest three months' bank statements, valid cellphone numbernot stated on the card
CashgistSouth African ID, proof of steady income for the last three months, access to internet bankingSouth African citizen

The practical gap: Capfin accepts payslips instead of statements, and most of the lenders in this table work from bank statements, with Primeloans asking for both statements and a payslip. If you can only show payslips, Capfin is the only one here that names payslips alone; Cashgist asks for proof of steady income, which it does not define. If you cannot show a permanent salary, Capfin's rules rule you out and you should read loans without a payslip.

Term and cost: why 24 months costs more

Capfin publishes three examples for the same R4 000 (FAQ, Sep 2026 example, read 4 Nov 2026):

Capfin example, R4 000Total repayableTotal as a share of the amountInstalment
6 months, 5% a month maximumR5 753about 144%up to R959
12 months, 28.25% a yearR6 200about 155%up to R517
24 months, 28.25% a yearR7 917about 198%up to R330

Our arithmetic is the share column: total repayable divided by the amount. A longer term lowers the instalment from R959 to R330, and the total rises by more than R2 000. Each example includes an initiation fee of R535, a service fee of R69 and credit life. For scale, Wonga's own published example is R4 000 over 6 months for R5 811.78, about 145% (loans like Wonga). Different fee structures mean the two are not a like-for-like price, but both sit in the same range for a six-month loan.

To compare any quotation, use the total in rand for your amount and term, not the monthly rate. Put the numbers into the loan calculator.

Checks before you switch

Check the registration number first. Capfin is shown as “a division of Pepkor Trading (Pty) Ltd” on its terms page, and the lenders in the table show their NCR numbers on their pages (the numbers are in the notes below). Match the number to the legal name in the register of credit providers of the National Credit Regulator.

Then the quotation: you must get the amount, term, interest, fees and total before you sign. Then the exit: ask what happens if you settle early. Creditbar and Cashgist say early repayment carries no penalty, and Kredio allows early settlement if you ask for the settlement amount at least three working days before the due date. For the checklist of a legitimate lender: loan requirements.

If Capfin declined you

A decline names no single cause. Ask Capfin for the reason: a registered lender must give you the main reason on request. Capfin says you may reapply after 30 calendar days. Before you try another lender, read how the bureau report looks (how to check your credit score) and what lenders look at (loans for bad credit). Do not send applications to many lenders at once: each leaves an enquiry on your report.

Ready to compare? Compare online loans in South Africa by amount and term, then apply on the lender's site.

FAQ

Is there a loan like Capfin?

Not exactly. Capfin lends R1 000 to R50 000 over 6 to 24 months. The nearest lenders in our list, Kredio and Crediwise, lend up to R8 000 (Crediwise R4 000 for a first loan), so they suit a smaller sum. The comparison services MoneyHello and Binixo show higher limits but are not lenders (pages read 4 Nov 2026).

What is cheaper than Capfin?

No page says so. Capfin's R4 000 example over 6 months totals R5 753; Wonga's own R4 000 example over 6 months totals R5 811.78. Fees differ, so the only fair comparison is the total in a quotation for your amount and term.

Can I get a bigger loan than Capfin offers?

Capfin's maximum is R50 000 (4 Nov 2026). Binixo shows up to the same R50 000 and MoneyHello up to R25 000, but both pass your application to lenders, and the final amount depends on the lender's affordability check.

Does Capfin accept payslips instead of bank statements?

Yes. Capfin asks for “either 3 latest payslips or 3 latest bank statements” plus a valid SA ID. Most of the other lenders in this comparison work from bank statements; Primeloans asks for statements and a payslip, and Cashgist for proof of steady income.

Can I borrow if I am not permanently employed?

Not from Capfin: its FAQ says you must be “permanently employed and earning a monthly salary”. Other lenders set their own rules; Creditbar asks for a regular source of income and Kredio for proof of steady income. See loans without a payslip.

How long until the money arrives?

Capfin says within 48 business hours after approval, to a bank account. Kredio says the money is in your account within 15 minutes after you sign (its own page); Crediwise, Primeloans, LendPlus and Cashgist also pay to an eWallet.

Can I apply again after a decline?

Capfin says you may reapply after 30 calendar days. Another lender decides on its own rules, so a decline at Capfin does not decide the answer elsewhere.

Important information

Capfin's figures and quotations are from capfin.co.za (home page, FAQ, how-it-works and application guide, terms) read on 4 Nov 2026; Capfin can change them, and the numbers on your loan agreement apply. NCR numbers: Capfin NCRCP13053 (Capfin terms, 4 Nov 2026); Kredio NCRCP24149, Crediwise NCRCP22496, Century NCRCP20790, Primeloans NCRCP20937, LendPlus NCRCP17814, Cashgist NCRCP22122. The other lenders' amounts, terms, documents and NCR numbers are from our lender cards checked from 25 Oct to 1 Nov 2026, which cite each company's own site. Totals as a share of the amount are our arithmetic on each lender's published example. Wonga's example is from the Wonga page on Tasamira (7 Oct 2026). Registration with the National Credit Regulator is not an endorsement by the regulator or by Tasamira. Tasamira is a comparison site: it is not Capfin and does not decide loans. Tasamira is not affiliated with Capfin; the comparison names Capfin only as the reference.

  • Kredio: terms from the lender’s website, as of 27 Oct 2026

Sources

Methodology

Spotted an error? Tell us

KredioGet money