Loans without a credit check in South Africa: what lenders still check

Tasamira editorial team · data checked on 3 Nov 2026

No registered lender in South Africa can skip the affordability check, and none of the five lenders in the table below says it does. All five ask for bank statements, which show the income and debt the check needs. Creditbar says bad credit does not automatically disqualify you and decides within minutes during business hours. Loans in our comparison go up to R8 000. Data as of 5 Nov 2026. Compare and apply online.more
KredioKredio
Amount
up to R8 000from R500

What “no credit check” really means

You can compare lenders and what each states about its checks on the online loans list. First, the rule they all work under.

“No credit check” is a marketing line, not a legal category. Section 81 of the National Credit Act says a lender must not sign a credit agreement without first taking reasonable steps to assess your understanding of the risks and costs, your debt repayment history, and your existing financial means, prospects and obligations. An agreement made without that assessment, or despite information that it would make you over-indebted, can be declared reckless (section 80).

The Act names what the lender must assess. It does not say that a bureau score is the only way to do it, so lenders choose their tools: some pull your bureau record, some read your bank statements, many do both. The National Credit Regulations add criteria for the assessment (regulation 23A); read the current text on the National Credit Regulator’s website.

In practice an ad that says “no credit check” can mean:

  • the lender does not look at your bureau score and reads your bank statements instead;
  • a poor record does not rule you out by itself (Creditbar says so on its site, checked 18 Oct 2026);
  • or an operator that promises to skip every check, which is a red flag (see the last section).

Want to see how each lender says it assesses you? Compare lenders that state how they assess you: every card shows the source and the date we checked it.

What lenders check instead of (or besides) your credit score

What each of the five lenders on our list writes on its card (checked 18 Oct 2026). The table is in alphabetical order, not a ranking. “Not stated” means the lender’s pages that we read do not say; it does not mean the lender skips the check.

LenderDocuments on the cardWhat the card says about your credit recordDecision and payout (lender’s statement)
Century
Apply
SA ID, cellphone number, bank account details, last 3 months’ bank statements (3 salary deposits)Not statedAims to approve and pay out the same day; bank account after the DebiCheck mandate
Creditbar
Apply
Valid SA ID, bank statements for the last 3 months, active phone number; SA citizen or permanent resident with a regular incomeBad credit does not automatically disqualify; a credit check is part of the assessmentDecides within minutes during business hours; bank account
Crediwise
Apply
Valid SA ID, last 3 months’ bank statements, cellphone numberNot statedProcessing from 15 minutes to 2 hours in business hours; bank account or eWallet (instant, any day)
LendPlus
Apply
Valid SA ID, last 3 months’ bank statements, cellphone numberNot statedDecision time not stated; bank account or eWallet (instant, any day)
Primeloans
Apply
ID number and a copy, last 3 bank statements and a payslip, proof of residence, cellphone numberNot statedProcessing from 15 minutes to 2 hours in business hours; bank account or eWallet (instant, any day)

All five ask for bank statements, and only Creditbar says anything about your credit record. Statements show your income, your debit orders and the loans you already repay, which is the “existing obligations” part of section 81. So no lender on this list skips the assessment. They differ in what they read. If your score is the worry, what lenders do with a low score goes through the documents and the bands.

Looking for a lender that explains its check? Open the Creditbar card: of the five lenders in the table it is the only one that states how it treats your credit record. Kredio, read on its own website on 27 Oct 2026, also says a lower score does not automatically disqualify you.

Boodle shows the pattern from the other side: its site says “no paperwork, no documents” and, in the same steps, “We’ll do credit checks and verify your details” (boodle.co.za, 28 Oct 2026). “No documents” describes the form. The check still happens.

Apply for a loan online in South Africa

See all 9 lenders
  • Highest amount on the list: up to R8 000

    Amount
    up to R8 000from R500
    See terms
    Source of the terms
    kredio.co.za · 27 Oct 2026
    Registration
    NCRCP24149 · NCR register
    Application and payout
    decision in 15 min or less · applications 24/7, according to the lender
    More about Kredio
  • Amount
    up to R5 000from R500
    Term
    up to 61 daysfrom 7 days
    See terms
    Source of the terms
    creditbar.co.za · 25 Oct 2026
    Registration
    NCRCP23238 · NCR register
    Application and payout
    applications 24/7, according to the lender
    More about Creditbar
  • JabulaniMoney

    JabulaniMoney

    Amount
    up to R4 000from R500
    See terms
    Source of the terms
    jabulanimoney.co.za · 29 Oct 2026

Compare loans before you apply

Three things to compare: the total you repay in rand, the term and the documents you can supply. Ready to apply? Pick a lender below, set your amount and term, and apply online:

  • Creditbar: R500 to R5 000 for 7 to 61 days; says a credit check is part of its assessment.
  • Crediwise: up to R8 000; asks for your last 3 months’ bank statements.
  • LendPlus: up to R4 000; asks for your last 3 months’ bank statements.

Applying costs nothing and happens on the lender’s own website. Before you accept, the lender must give you a pre-agreement statement and quotation with the total you will repay (section 92).

Set your amount and days on the online loans list: lenders that do not offer them drop off the list.

What R3 000 costs over 6 months on Century’s published fees

Century publishes its charges (creditza.co.za, checked 18 Oct 2026). Example for a new client who borrows R3 000 and repays in 6 equal monthly instalments. Method: the initiation fee is added to the loan, interest of 0.16% a day is taken as about 4.8% a month on the reducing balance, and the service fee is paid every month. These are indicative sums, not a quote.

R3 000 over 6 monthsAmount
Initiation fee: R165 plus 10% of the amount above R1 000 (R2 000)R365
Interest over 6 months on R3 365about R587
Service fee: 6 × R69R414
Total to repay, before VAT on the initiation feeabout R4 366
Per monthabout R728

VAT on the initiation fee adds about R55, so the total is close to R4 421. Fees and interest come to roughly R1 366 to R1 421, or 46% to 47% of what you borrowed. Century lists 0.1% a day for repeat clients: the interest would be about R362 instead of R587, and the total about R4 141.

The Regulations cap interest on short-term credit at 5% a month (regulation 42); 0.16% a day is about 4.8% a month. Six months is the longest term for short-term credit (up to R8 000 repaid within six months). Century’s own pages give different values for the term and rate in places, so rely on the figures in your pre-agreement statement.

The example was calculated on Century’s conditions on 19 Oct 2026. Try your own amount and term in the loan calculator.

Does a check hurt your score, and how to prepare

A lender’s look at your record is an enquiry, not a missed payment. Enquiries stay visible on your record for a maximum of 1 year (regulation 17, see our credit score guide), while missed payments weigh much longer. No lender can tell you in advance how an application will affect your score.

The Act gives you rights here: you may inspect your credit bureau file free once in any 12 months (section 72), you must be advised before a credit provider reports prescribed adverse information about you to a bureau, and you may challenge any entry you think is wrong.

What usually helps a lender’s assessment, as factors and not guarantees:

  • a smaller amount that your income covers comfortably;
  • bank statements that show regular income and no repeated returned debit orders;
  • one application at a time, instead of many in a week;
  • details that match your ID and your bank account.

Have your proof ready before you start. Wonga lists a cellphone number, SA ID number, bank account details and your most recent proof of income, and says it runs a credit check as part of its automated decision (wonga.co.za, 28 Oct 2026). Other online lenders like it are compared in loans like Wonga.

Not sure what your record shows? Read how to check your credit score, then compare lenders on the loans list with your documents ready.

Red flags: upfront fees, “guaranteed” and WhatsApp lenders

Walk away if a “lender”:

  • asks for a fee, “insurance” or a “release payment” before it pays out;
  • promises a loan to everyone, says “guaranteed” or “no questions asked”;
  • works only through WhatsApp or social media, with no company name or address;
  • asks for your banking PIN, password or OTP;
  • is missing from the NCR register of credit providers. Search the company name or registration number on ncr.org.za; each lender card here shows the NCR number and the date we checked it (7 Oct 2026).

A registered lender asks you questions because the law requires it, so a lender that asks for nothing at all is a warning sign. Anyone can file a complaint about a credit provider with the National Credit Regulator (section 136).

Need a lender that works under the Act? Compare the NCR-registered lenders on the online loans list. If a bad record worries you, read loans for blacklisted people first. The lender decides after its own checks.

FAQ

Which lenders in South Africa don’t rely on your credit score?

None of the lenders on our list says it skips the check. All five lenders in the table above ask for bank statements, and Creditbar is the only one that says anything about your credit record: bad credit does not automatically disqualify you, but a credit check is part of its assessment (cards, 18 Oct 2026). No lender can promise approval.

Can I get a loan with no credit check and no payslip?

Century, Creditbar, Crediwise and LendPlus ask for your last 3 months’ bank statements and do not list a payslip; only Primeloans asks for a payslip and proof of residence (cards, 18 Oct 2026). Every lender on the list asks for a South African ID and bank statements, so none works without documents. These are the lenders’ statements, not a promise for your application.

Are no credit check loans legal in South Africa?

Only if the lender still assesses whether you can afford the loan: a registered lender must assess whether you can afford the loan (section 81 of the National Credit Act). Some lenders do not rely on a bureau score and read your bank statements instead. None of the lenders on our loans list says it skips the check; Creditbar says a credit check is part of its assessment (18 Oct 2026).

Are no credit check loans more expensive?

The Regulations cap interest and fees for every registered lender, whatever it checks. On Century’s published fees, R3 000 over six months costs about R1 400 in fees and interest (see the table above, 19 Oct 2026). A lender may charge less than the caps, so compare the total on each pre-agreement statement on the loans list.

Will the lender report to credit bureaus?

Lenders can file information about your payment history with registered credit bureaus, and a missed payment can be reported. The Act says you must be advised before a credit provider reports prescribed adverse information, and you can challenge a wrong entry. Check your file first: how to check your credit score.

What if my application is declined?

Ask the lender which check failed: affordability, statements or details that did not match. Each lender sets its own criteria, so another lender may decide differently. Try a smaller amount or a shorter term and avoid sending many applications at once. Read how to check your credit score, then go back to the loans list.

Important information

None of the five lender cards on our list says the lender skips the credit check. Under the National Credit Act a registered lender must assess whether you can afford the loan (cards checked 18 Oct 2026).

  • Kredio: terms from the lender’s website, as of 27 Oct 2026

Sources

Methodology

Spotted an error? Tell us

KredioGet money