Short-term loans in South Africa: what 1 to 6 months really costs

Tasamira editorial team · data checked on 3 Nov 2026

You can get a short-term loan online in South Africa from NCR-registered lenders such as Kredio, which says it decides in 15 minutes or less and takes applications 24/7 (kredio.co.za, 27 Oct 2026), or Crediwise, which says it processes a request in 15 minutes to 2 hours in business hours (crediwise.co.za, 29 Oct 2026). By law it is repaid within six months, and lenders in our comparison offer up to R8 000. See what R3 000 costs over one, three and six months. Data as of 5 Nov 2026.more
KredioKredio
Amount
up to R8 000from R500

What counts as a short-term loan

You can compare amounts and terms on the online loans list. First, the definition.

Regulation 39 of the National Credit Regulations defines a “short term credit transaction” as a credit transaction where the deferred amount at the start is not more than R8 000, the whole amount is repayable within six months, and money is paid out to you to use as you wish. Pawn transactions are included. A loan that is conditional on the money going to someone other than you (unless you asked for that), or to a person related to the lender, is left out.

How it differs from the loans people compare it with:

  • Payday loan is everyday language, not a legal term. It usually means one repayment on or soon after payday. The same product repaid in instalments over a few months is the short-term loan on this page; the one-payment case is in our payday loans guide.
  • Personal loan is unsecured credit of any size, normally over longer terms. Its interest ceiling is the repo rate plus 21 percentage points a year; see personal loans.
  • Instant loan is a label for fast payout, and speed does not change the category: instant loans.

What the category means for price: for short-term credit regulation 42 caps interest at 5% a month on the first loan and 3% a month on later loans in the same calendar year, and the initiation fee at R165 plus 10% of the amount above R1 000, never more than R1 050. The lender must show the interest as a monthly rate.

Ready to see amounts and terms side by side? Compare short-term loans.

One month, three months, six months: the same R3 000 at three terms

Century publishes its charges (creditza.co.za, checked 18 Oct 2026): interest of 0.16% a day for new clients, about 4.8% a month; an initiation fee of R165 plus 10% above R1 000, plus VAT; a service fee of R69 a month, which equals the R60 maximum the NCR gives plus 15% VAT. Below, the same R3 000 at three terms for a new client. Method: the initiation fee (R365) is added to the loan, interest runs on the reducing balance at 4.8% a month, instalments are equal, the service fee is paid every month. Indicative sums, not a quote.

R3 000, new client1 month3 months6 months
Initiation feeR365R365R365
InterestR162R328R587
Service fees (R69 a month)R69R207R414
Total to repay, before VAT on the initiation feeR3 596R3 900R4 366
Per monthR3 596 (one payment)about R1 300about R728
Fees and interest as a share of R3 000about 20%30%about 46%

VAT on the initiation fee adds about R55 to each column. The pattern: every extra month lowers the instalment and raises the total, because the service fee and interest keep running. A repeat client at Century pays 0.1% a day, about 3% a month, which is the ceiling regulation 42 sets for later short-term loans in a calendar year. If the quotation lets you pay the initiation fee separately and once off, no interest is charged on it (NCR, media release January 2024), which lowers the interest rows. Our payday guide shows R3 000 for 30 days at R3 578 because it charges interest on the R3 000 only; here the initiation fee is financed, hence the difference of about R18.

Check the same sums on a real card. Century: terms up to 6 months, per its site; the card shows the fees used above and the date we checked them.

Apply for a loan online in South Africa

See all 9 lenders
  • Highest amount on the list: up to R8 000

    Amount
    up to R8 000from R500
    See terms
    Source of the terms
    kredio.co.za · 27 Oct 2026
    Registration
    NCRCP24149 · NCR register
    Application and payout
    decision in 15 min or less · applications 24/7, according to the lender
    More about Kredio
  • Amount
    up to R5 000from R500
    Term
    up to 61 daysfrom 7 days
    See terms
    Source of the terms
    creditbar.co.za · 25 Oct 2026
    Registration
    NCRCP23238 · NCR register
    Application and payout
    applications 24/7, according to the lender
    More about Creditbar
  • JabulaniMoney

    JabulaniMoney

    Amount
    up to R4 000from R500
    See terms
    Source of the terms
    jabulanimoney.co.za · 29 Oct 2026

Compare short-term loans before you apply

Need cash for a few weeks? Pick one of these three, set your amount and term, and apply online:

  • Creditbar: R500 to R5 000 for 7 to 61 days; early repayment without penalties, by its own statement.
  • Crediwise: up to R8 000; says it can pay to an eWallet instantly on any day.
  • Century: up to R8 000 for up to 180 days, with interest, initiation fee and service fee published.

Kredio says it decides in 15 minutes or less and takes applications 24/7 (kredio.co.za, 27 Oct 2026).

Applying costs nothing and happens on the lender’s own website. Before you accept, the lender must give you a pre-agreement statement and quotation with the total you will repay (section 92 of the Act).

Pick your amount and days on the online loans list: lenders that do not offer them drop off.

What lenders say they pay out and when

What each lender writes about term, decision and payout on its card (checked 18 and 19 Oct 2026), ordered by the longest term it states. The order is not a ranking. “Not stated” means the pages we read do not say.

LenderAmountTermDecision (lender’s statement)Payout
Century
Apply
Up to R8 000Up to 180 daysSame-day decision and payout aimed forBank account, after the DebiCheck mandate
Creditbar
Apply
R500 to R5 0007 to 61 daysWithin minutes during business hoursBank account
Crediwise
Apply
Up to R8 000Not stated15 minutes to 2 hours in business hoursBank account or eWallet (instant, any day)
Primeloans
Apply
Up to R8 000Not stated15 minutes to 2 hours in business hoursBank account or eWallet (instant, any day)
LendPlus
Apply
Up to R4 000Not statedNot statedBank account or eWallet (instant, any day)

Only two of the five state a term at all, and Century is the only one that publishes interest and fees. If term matters to you, ask the other three for the quotation before you decide. These are the lenders’ own statements and the timing depends on your bank and on their checks; the question of speed has its own page: instant loans.

Beyond the five: FASTA says it pays out “even when banks are closed”, weekends and public holidays included, once the application is approved and every DebiCheck mandate is authorised. All its applications are subject to affordability and credit checks (fasta.co.za, 28 Oct 2026). Lenders that pay to an eWallet on any day are in eWallet loans.

Need the longest term on our list? The Century card shows up to 180 days with its fees.

When a short-term loan is the wrong choice

A short-term loan is the wrong choice when the instalment does not fit your month. The Act sets no percentage of income: it asks whether you will be able to pay all your obligations on time (section 79). Do the sum yourself. Take your pay after tax, subtract rent, food, transport and every debit order you already have, and compare what is left with the instalment. On the table above, R3 000 over six months is about R728 a month and over three months about R1 300.

Using a new short-term loan to pay off an old one repeats the costs. Regulation 42 sets the initiation fee per credit agreement, so a new agreement for R3 000 carries another R365 plus VAT before any interest. Two lenders on our list let you postpone: LendPlus on application up to two days before the due date, if you pay the interest and fees accrued so far and sign a new agreement; Primeloans by paying the interest. Both mean paying for the extra time.

If the debt is already several loans, look at debt consolidation loans, and for the one-payment version of this loan at payday loans. A creditor you are already behind with is better approached before the due date than after.

Test your budget first. Enter your amount and term in the loan calculator and compare the monthly figure with what you have left.

Check before you sign

Before you accept a loan:

  • read the pre-agreement statement and quotation: it must show the interest rate, every fee and the total you will repay (section 92), and for a small agreement the quote is binding on the lender for five business days at your request, subject to its assessment;
  • check the total cost of credit, not only the rate: interest, initiation fee, monthly service fee and credit life insurance if you take it; what lenders on our list state about their rates and fees is in our loan interest rates report;
  • know your right to settle early: you may settle a credit agreement at any time, with or without notice, by paying the unpaid principal plus unpaid interest and fees up to that date (section 125); the extra early termination charge in that section applies only to large agreements, and Creditbar says early repayment carries no penalties;
  • look the lender up in the NCR register of credit providers under its legal name; a registered lender has an NCRCP number.

Red flags: a fee or “insurance” asked before the money is paid out, a lender that exists only on WhatsApp or social media, a promise to lend to everyone, a request for your banking PIN or OTP. The NCR advises never paying an upfront fee. Anyone can report a breach of the Act to the NCR (section 136).

Now compare. Open the online loans list and check each lender’s page for its NCR number and the date of our check.

FAQ

Where can I get a short-term loan online in South Africa?

Crediwise says it processes a request in 15 minutes to 2 hours in business hours (crediwise.co.za, 29 Oct 2026). In our table, Creditbar decides within minutes during business hours and Century aims for a same-day decision and payout, by their own statements. Kredio says it decides in 15 minutes or less and takes applications 24/7 (kredio.co.za, 27 Oct 2026).

Lenders on our list go up to R8 000. Each lender decides after its own checks, and none can promise approval.

What is a short-term loan in South Africa?

It is credit of up to R8 000 that must be repaid within six months and is paid out to you to spend as you wish (regulation 39). It has its own interest ceiling under regulation 42, which is why it is treated apart from personal loans.

How much does a 3-month loan cost?

It depends on the lender and the rate it quotes. On Century’s published fees (checked 18 Oct 2026), R3 000 for three months comes to about R3 900 before VAT on the initiation fee, which is roughly R1 300 a month. The table above has the working, and your quotation has the real figure.

Is a short-term loan the same as a payday loan?

Close, but not identical. “Payday loan” is everyday language for one repayment around payday; a short-term loan can be repaid in instalments over up to six months. The one-payment case is in the payday loans guide.

Can I repay a short-term loan early?

Yes. Section 125 of the National Credit Act lets you settle a credit agreement at any time. You pay the unpaid principal and the interest and fees up to the settlement date. Creditbar also states that early repayment carries no penalties.

What if I cannot pay on time?

Contact the lender before the due date. Late fees can apply: Creditbar, Crediwise, LendPlus and Primeloans say so on their pages and do not publish the amounts; a missed payment can be reported to the credit bureaus. Before court action a lender must send you a written notice about the default (section 129). If several debts are the problem, a registered debt counsellor can help.

Important information

The Regulations treat a short-term loan as its own category with its own interest ceiling, so the price rises quickly with the amount and falls with a shorter term. Century’s published fees checked 18 Oct 2026. No lender can promise a yes in advance.

  • Kredio: terms from the lender’s website, as of 27 Oct 2026

Sources

Methodology

Spotted an error? Tell us

KredioGet money