Instant loans in South Africa: how fast you really get the money

Tasamira editorial team · data checked on 3 Nov 2026

Crediwise, LendPlus and Primeloans say they process a request in 15 minutes to 2 hours in business hours and can pay to an eWallet instantly on any day (their FAQs, 29 Oct 2026). Creditbar says funds usually reach your bank account within 15 minutes after approval. Kredio says it decides and pays within 15 minutes (its website, 27 Oct 2026). In our loan comparison, amounts go up to R8 000. Data as of 5 Nov 2026. These are the lenders’ own statements, not a promise: compare payout options, then apply on the lender’s website.more
KredioKredio
Amount
up to R8 000from R500

What “instant” means: approval time vs money in your account

A lender can approve an application in minutes and the money can still arrive later. The decision is one step. The transfer to your account is the next, and it depends on your bank and the day: a transfer between different banks can land on the next business day, and weekends and public holidays can add a delay. Ask your bank how it handles incoming EFTs.

Here is what the lenders on the online loans list say (cards checked 18 Oct 2026). Crediwise, LendPlus and Primeloans say they can pay to an eWallet instantly on any day. Century and Creditbar pay into a bank account, and Creditbar’s site gives different values for payout in different places, so confirm it before you apply.

These are the lenders’ own statements, not a promise for your application. The lender decides after its checks.

Speed is your first filter? Compare lenders by stated payout time. Every card shows the source and the date we checked it.

How fast lenders say they pay out

Terms and payout options as each lender states them: Kredio and Cashgist from their websites (27 Oct 2026), the other five from our cards (checked 25 Oct 2026). Kredio first; the rest are ordered by the shortest time stated. It is not a ranking.

LenderAmountTermTime stated by the lenderPayout channelApply 24/7
Kredio
Apply
R500 to R8 000Set in your quotationDecision within 15 minutes; money in your account within 15 minutes after you signBank accountYes, 24/7 (its site)
LendPlusR500 to R4 000Not publishedReview and transfer from 15 minutesBank account or eWallet (instant, any day)Yes, 24/7
Cashgist
Apply
R500 to R4 0005 to 40 daysApproval in 15 minutes; payout 15 minutes to 2 hours in business hoursBank account or eWallet (instant, any day)Not stated
CreditbarR500 to R5 0007 to 61 daysDecision within minutes in business hours; its pages give two different payout timesBank accountYes (24/7 applications)
CrediwiseR500 to R8 000Not published15 minutes to 2 hours in business hoursBank account or eWallet (instant, any day)Not stated
PrimeloansR500 to R8 000Not published15 minutes to 2 hours in business hoursBank account or eWallet (instant, any day)Not stated
CenturyR500 to R8 000Up to 180 daysApproval and payout aimed for the same dayBank account, after the DebiCheck mandateNot stated

No lender publishes a fixed time for a bank payout. “Instant, any day” is the lender’s wording for its eWallet option, which four of them offer. Crediwise explains why: banks do not send money on weekends and outside working hours, so it offers the transfer to an eWallet instead, and you choose the eWallet when you apply. Weekend payouts are covered in the eWallet payouts on weekends guide.

Need the money on a weekend? Open the Crediwise card (up to R8 000, eWallet payout on any day by its own statement) and check the other three eWallet lenders next to it.

Outside the table, Sunshine Loans says that during business hours it typically approves applications in less than 60 minutes, and that loans are funded Monday to Sunday, 8am to 11pm. Depending on your bank, the money can reach you by the end of the business day (its website, 28 Oct 2026).

Instant cash in 5 minutes: what to have ready

Kredio says its application takes about 10 minutes, then a decision within 15 minutes. So “cash in 5 minutes” describes the form at best, not the money: the lender still checks your income and your bank has to receive the transfer. What shortens the wait is having these ready:

  • Your South African ID number (Primeloans also asks for a copy).
  • Your last three months of bank statements. Kredio says the statement is uploaded automatically for its listed banks (Capitec, Absa, Access, Standard Bank, FNB, Nedbank, TymeBank, Discovery) and by hand in some cases.
  • Proof of steady income (Kredio) or a payslip and proof of residence (Primeloans).
  • A cellphone number that receives SMS, and your bank’s app to approve the DebiCheck debit order.
  • The amount you actually need and the date you can repay.

Details differ by lender: compare them in loan requirements in South Africa or check the card before you start.

Quickest stated routes on our list: Kredio says it decides within 15 minutes, 24/7, and pays within 15 minutes after you sign (its website, 27 Oct 2026); LendPlus says review and transfer take from 15 minutes, 24/7, per its site.

Apply for a loan online in South Africa

See all 9 lenders

Compare quick, fast and same-day loans

Three things decide whether a fast loan suits you: how long the payout takes, what you repay in total and how much you can borrow. Need money today? Pick a lender below, set your amount and apply online:

  • Kredio: R500 to R8 000; says it decides within 15 minutes, 24/7, and pays within 15 minutes after you sign (its website, 27 Oct 2026).
  • Creditbar: R500 to R5 000 for 7 to 61 days, early repayment without penalties.
  • Crediwise: up to R8 000, eWallet payout on any day by its own statement.
  • LendPlus: up to R4 000, eWallet payout, and a postponement option (LendPlus says it is available “2 days before the loan expires”).

If you want a stated cut-off, Wonga says: apply before 5pm and get cash in your account in under 15 minutes, when you approve your DebiCheck mandate between 8am and 5pm. It adds that an approval at a weekend or on a public holiday is paid on the next business day when the receiving bank cannot do fast transfers (wonga.co.za, 28 Oct 2026). Other online lenders with similar loans are compared in loans like Wonga.

Applying costs nothing and happens on the lender’s own website. Read the pre-agreement statement before you accept. If you need the money for a bigger or planned expense, the urgent cash loans guide compares amounts and terms.

Set your amount and days on the online loans list: lenders that do not offer them drop off the list.

Bank instant loans: temporary loans and pre-approved offers

Banks sell fast products too, mostly to people who already bank with them. What they state on their own sites (read 27 Oct 2026):

  • Nedbank Quick Loan: R500 to R50 000, repaid over 1 to 12 months, no documents to upload, apply in the Money app. You must be a South African citizen aged 18 to 65 with income paid electronically; Nedbank does an affordability check first. See the Nedbank page.
  • FNB Temporary Loan: up to R10 000, funds immediately and repaid from your deposits over 31 days; no paperwork. You need an FNB transactional account of 6 months or more, to be 18 or older and a South African citizen, and to pass an affordability and credit check. FNB shows if you are pre-approved in its app or on *120*321#. See the FNB page.
  • Absa Instant Loan: R350 to R8 000, repaid within up to 35 days, as listed on our Absa page.

“Pre-approved” means the bank has already looked at your account and may have an offer waiting. It is still an offer subject to the terms you see before you accept. Without an account at that bank, the online lenders above are the route, and several of them also take applications in an app: see loan apps in South Africa.

What can slow an instant loan down

A registered lender must check that you can afford the loan before it pays out (sections 80 and 81 of the National Credit Act). That check is the usual reason an “instant” loan is not instant.

  • Bank statements. Creditbar, Crediwise, LendPlus and Primeloans ask for the last three months; Century asks for statements showing three salary deposits. Primeloans also asks for a payslip and proof of residence (no payslip? see loans without a payslip).
  • ID and phone. A valid South African ID and a working cellphone number. Details that do not match can hold the check up.
  • The repayment mandate. Repayment usually goes off by DebiCheck debit order, which you confirm with your bank. Outside business hours the confirmation can wait.
  • Your credit record. Creditbar says bad credit does not automatically disqualify you and that a credit check is part of its assessment (checked 18 Oct 2026). Other lenders set their own rules.

Capfin shows how this works in practice: it pays “within 48 business hours after approval”, and if you do not confirm the DebiCheck mandate within 48 hours the loan is not paid (its FAQ, 28 Oct 2026).

A loan “without documents”? Every lender on our list asks for an ID and bank statements, so none works without documents. A site that promises otherwise is a reason to stop and check its NCR registration (see below). The same goes for “no credit check”: a registered lender still has to assess affordability.

Not sure what your record shows? Read how to check your credit score, then compare lenders on the loans list with your documents ready.

What a small instant loan costs: R1 500 over 30 days

Example on Century’s published figures for a new client (creditza.co.za, checked 18 Oct 2026), repaid in one payment after 30 days. These are indicative sums, not a quote.

R1 500 for 30 daysAmount
Initiation fee: 16.5% of the first R1 000 (R165) plus 10% of the other R500 (R50)R215
Interest: 0.16% per day for 30 daysR72
Service fee (one month)R69
Total to repay, before VATabout R1 856

VAT on the initiation fee adds about R32, so the total is close to R1 888. Fees and interest come to roughly R356 to R388, or 24% to 26% of what you borrowed. Century lists 0.1% a day for repeat clients: the interest would be R45 instead of R72.

Century’s own pages give different values for the term and rate in places, so rely on the figures in your pre-agreement statement. For the same fees on R1 000 and R3 000, see the payday loans guide. To repay in instalments over 1 to 6 months instead of one payment, read short-term loans in South Africa.

The example was calculated on Century’s conditions on 18 Oct 2026. Change the amount and days in the loan calculator and compare totals on the loans list.

Red flags and what to do if you are declined

Walk away if a “lender”:

  • asks for a fee, “insurance” or a “release payment” before it pays out;
  • promises a loan to everyone, or says “guaranteed”;
  • works only through WhatsApp or social media, with no company details;
  • asks for your banking PIN, password or OTP;
  • is missing from the NCR register of credit providers. Search the company name or registration number on ncr.org.za; each lender card here shows the NCR number and the date we checked it (7 Oct 2026).

If a lender declines you, ask which check failed: affordability, statements or details that did not match. Every lender sets its own criteria, so another lender on the list may decide differently. Try a smaller amount or a shorter term, and do not send applications to many lenders at once. Other options are a payment arrangement with the creditor and an advance from your employer.

Declined because of a bad record? See loans for blacklisted people, or go back to the online loans list and compare the next lender. The lender decides after its own checks.

FAQ

Which lenders give instant loans in South Africa?

Crediwise, LendPlus and Primeloans say they process a request in 15 minutes to 2 hours in business hours and can pay to an eWallet instantly on any day, even when banks are closed (their FAQs, 29 Oct 2026). Creditbar says funds usually reach your bank account within 15 minutes after approval, with applications 24/7 (its website, 29 Oct 2026). Kredio says it decides within 15 minutes and pays within 15 minutes after you sign (its website, 27 Oct 2026), and Century aims to approve and pay out on the same day. These are the lenders’ own statements, not a promise for your application: every lender checks affordability first. Compare them on the loans list.

Can I get an instant cash loan in 1 hour without documents?

No lender on our list works without documents: all ask for a South African ID and recent bank statements (cards, 18 Oct 2026). Some say they decide within minutes to two hours during business hours, and Crediwise, LendPlus and Primeloans say they can pay to an eWallet instantly on any day. These are the lenders’ statements, not a promise. Compare payout options on the loans list.

Do instant loans pay out on weekends?

Crediwise, LendPlus and Primeloans say their eWallet payout is instant on any day. For a payout to a bank account no lender on the list publishes a weekend time, and a transfer between banks can wait for the next business day. Check each lender card before you apply.

Is an instant loan the same as a payday loan?

Often it is the same product with a different label. Under the National Credit Act, short-term credit is a loan of up to R8 000 repaid within six months. Look at the amount, the term and the fees, not the name. The payday loans guide covers the fees in detail.

Do instant lenders check my credit?

A registered lender must assess affordability, and whether it looks at your credit record differs by lender. Creditbar says a credit check is part of its assessment. Read how to check your credit score before you apply, then compare on the loans list.

What if my application is declined?

Ask the lender why, fix what you can (a smaller amount, a shorter term, matching details) and try another lender, because each one has its own criteria. Avoid sending many applications at once. See loans for blacklisted people if listings are the problem.

Important information

“Instant” is not money in your account the same minute. Some lenders on our list say they decide within minutes to two hours during business hours, and Crediwise, LendPlus, Primeloans and Cashgist say they can pay to an eWallet on any day (lenders’ own statements, checked 18 to 27 Oct 2026).

Kredio, Cashgist, Nedbank and FNB details were read on their own websites on 27 Oct 2026; the other lenders’ details are from our cards, checked 25 Oct 2026. Bank products and eligibility change, so confirm them with the bank.

  • Kredio: terms from the lender’s website, as of 27 Oct 2026

Sources

Methodology

Spotted an error? Tell us

KredioGet money