
- Amount
- up to R8 000from R500
Compare all 9 lenders and choose your loan
Newest lenders: NCR date, amounts and terms
Lenders by NCR registration date
| Lender | NCR number | Final registration date | Company number on the register | Loan amount | Term |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Creditbar | NCRCP23238 | 4 June 2026 | 2026/213837/07 | R500–R5,000 | 7–61 days |
| Crediwise | NCRCP22496 | 1 August 2025 | 2025/543233/07 | R500–R8,000 (first loan up to R4,000) | not stated in our data |
| Cashgist | NCRCP22122 | 10 June 2025 | 2025/261103/07 | R500–R4,000 | 5–40 days |
| Prime Loans | NCRCP20937 | 7 January 2025 | 2024/739416/07 | R500–R8,000 (first loan up to R4,000) | not stated in our data |
| Century | NCRCP20790 | 25 November 2024 | 2023/140135/07 | R500–R8,000 | up to 180 days |
| LendPlus | NCRCP17814 | 14 August 2023 | 2023/805154/07 | R500–R4,000 | not stated in our data |
Dates and company numbers: NCR register of registrants, searched by NCR number on 29 Oct 2026 (“Final Registration Date”). Amounts and terms: lender profiles in our database, checked 25–27 Oct 2026. The order is newest first and is not a ranking. Cashgist and LendPlus are in the table for completeness. Apply from the lender’s card: Creditbar, Crediwise, Prime Loans, Century.
Creditbar’s own page gives the term as 7 to 61 days in its FAQ and 7 to 45 days in a banner on the same page (29 Oct 2026). Use the figure in your pre-agreement statement, not the banner.
How to check a new lender on the NCR register
- Find the lender’s legal name and NCR number on its website (footer or terms). Crediwise and Prime Loans print their NCRCP numbers and company numbers; Creditbar prints “CP23238”, which is NCRCP23238 in the register.
- Open the NCR website, go to the register of registrants and search credit providers by the NCRCP number.
- Compare the name on the register with the name on the lender’s site and in your agreement. The status should read “Registered”, and the entry shows the final registration date.
Some brands trade under a different legal name than the one on their site (Century’s site is creditza.co.za, the register entry reads “Century Financial Services (Pty) Ltd”). Always search by the number, not the brand. More on telling legal lenders from loan sharks: loan sharks and legit lenders.
Apply for a loan online in South Africa
See all 9 lendersHighest amount on the list: up to R8 000
- Amount
- up to R8 000from R500
See terms
- Source of the terms
- kredio.co.za · 27 Oct 2026
- Registration
- NCRCP24149 · NCR register
- Application and payout
- decision in 15 min or less · applications 24/7, according to the lender
- Amount
- up to R5 000from R500
- Term
- up to 61 daysfrom 7 days
See terms
- Source of the terms
- creditbar.co.za · 25 Oct 2026
- Registration
- NCRCP23238 · NCR register
- Application and payout
- applications 24/7, according to the lender
Highest amount on the list: up to R8 000
- Amount
- up to R8 000from R500
See terms
- Source of the terms
- crediwise.co.za · 1 Nov 2026
- Registration
- NCRCP22496 · NCR register
What “new” means: registration date vs brand age
The date in the table is the lender’s final registration as a credit provider, not the day its website appeared. The company number helps: its first four digits are the year the company was incorporated. Creditbar (2026) and Crediwise and Cashgist (2025) are new companies. Century’s company dates from 2023 and was registered with the NCR in November 2024, and LendPlus’s from 2023, registered in August 2023.
A brand can also be older than the legal entity behind it: the register shows the company that holds the credit-provider registration today, not earlier trading names. So treat the date as “registered since”, not “founded in”. A newer lender simply has a shorter public record.
What new lenders ask for
Requirements by lender
| Lender | Age and nationality | What you submit | Source and date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Creditbar | 18+, South African citizen or permanent resident, regular income | valid South African ID, bank statements for the last 3 months, active phone number, bank account | creditbar.co.za, 29 Oct 2026 |
| Crediwise | 18+ (terms of use) | valid SA ID, latest 3 months’ bank statements, valid cellphone number | crediwise.co.za, 29 Oct 2026 |
| Prime Loans | not stated | ID number and copy of ID, latest 3 bank statements and payslip, proof of residence, cellphone number | primeloans.co.za, 29 Oct 2026 |
| Century | not stated | SA ID number, cellphone number, bank account details, latest 3 months’ bank statements (3 salary deposits) | lender profile, 25 Oct 2026 |
| Cashgist | 21+, South African citizen | SA ID, active mobile number, email, SA bank account, proof of regular income (3 months’ statement showing 3 salary deposits) | cashgist.co.za, 29 Oct 2026 |
| LendPlus | of legal age | valid SA ID, latest 3 months’ bank statements, cellphone number | lendplus.co.za, 29 Oct 2026 |
All six ask for bank statements, which is how they check affordability. Three salary deposits (Century, Cashgist) are stricter than a generic statement, and Cashgist accepts only PDF statements downloaded from your bank. Only Creditbar and Cashgist say anything about citizenship: if you are not a citizen or permanent resident, check the lender before applying. The lenders’ requirement lists, side by side, are in loan requirements in South Africa.
What a loan from a new lender costs
New lenders work under the same caps on interest and fees as older ones, and before you sign the lender must give you a pre-agreement statement with the total you will repay. Creditbar and Crediwise do not show their fees on our cards, so ask for the quote first. Century shows its charges on its site; see the worked example in the payday loans guide.
To compare the cost of your own amount and term, use the loan calculator.
Red flags: upfront fees and lenders without an NCR number
- a fee demanded before the money is paid out (“insurance”, “processing”, “activation”);
- no NCRCP number on the site, or a number that does not match the name when you search the register;
- pressure to hand over your ID and PIN on a messaging app;
- an agreement that does not state the total repayment, the interest rate and every fee.
A credit agreement with an unregistered provider is unlawful under the Act, and lenders may not ask for your PIN. The legal references are in the loan sharks guide.
Compare and apply
If a lender’s registration, amount and requirements fit you, apply on its site. Compare more lenders by amount and term on online loans in South Africa, or open the A to Z list of loan companies in South Africa.
FAQ
What are the newest loan companies in South Africa?
On our list by NCR final registration date: Creditbar (4 June 2026), Crediwise (1 August 2025), Cashgist (10 June 2025), Prime Loans (7 January 2025), Century (25 November 2024) and LendPlus (14 August 2023), per the NCR register searched on 29 Oct 2026. Other new lenders may exist that we do not list.
Are new lenders legit?
A lender is legal if it holds an NCR registration and follows the National Credit Act, and you can check that by number in the register. New does not mean unsafe, but a shorter track record means less public information. Registration is a minimum test, not a guarantee of good service.
Do new lenders check credit?
Yes. Creditbar says a credit check is part of its assessment and that bad credit does not automatically disqualify an applicant. Cashgist says the National Credit Act requires it to assess affordability from your income and expenses. No lender can promise approval in advance.
Can I get a first loan from a new lender?
Yes, new clients are accepted, but first loans are smaller: Crediwise and Prime Loans list up to R4,000 for a first loan (up to R8,000 later), and Creditbar lends R500–R5,000. Start with the amount you can repay on your next payday.
Important information
NCR numbers, names, company numbers and final registration dates: NCR register of registrants (www.ncr.org.za), searched by NCR number on 29 Oct 2026; the dates are as the register shows them and the register is updated by the NCR. Lender conditions: each lender’s website on 29 Oct 2026, or its profile in our database where marked. Registration confirms that a company may lend, not what a loan costs. Legal references: National Credit Act section 40 (registration), section 81 (affordability), section 89(2)(d) (agreement with an unregistered provider is unlawful), section 92 (pre-agreement statement) and regulations 42 to 44 (ceilings for interest, initiation fee and service fee). Tasamira is a comparison site and does not lend.
- Kredio: terms from the lender’s website, as of 27 Oct 2026


