
- Amount
- up to R8 000from R500
Compare all 9 lenders and choose your loan
Does SASSA give loans?
No. SASSA, the South African Social Security Agency, pays grants. In a statement reported on 18 September 2026 it said it does not provide loans or any other financial products. So a “SASSA loan” is a loan from a lender that happens to lend to people who receive grants, or a scam using the name.
That matters for the search phrases people use. “SASSA loan via cellphone”, “SASSA loan on WhatsApp” and “instant SASSA loans” do not lead to a SASSA service. The company behind the advert has to be a credit provider registered with the National Credit Regulator, with an NCRCP number you can find in the register. If it is not, or if the number does not match the name, stop.
Compare registered lenders instead: amounts, terms and documents on one page, each with its NCR number and the date we checked it.
Can grant income count for a loan?
It depends on the lender, and the lender decides. The National Credit Regulations tell a lender how to check income: for people who do not receive a salary, the latest three documented proofs of income or three months of bank statements. They do not say which income a lender must accept. A grant paid into your account shows on the statement, but whether it counts is the lender’s policy.
What each lender writes on its own site (Kredio and Cashgist read 27 Oct 2026, the others on our cards, checked 25 Oct 2026). A to Z; not a ranking. “Not stated” means the pages we read do not mention grants.
| Lender | What it asks for as income | Grants mentioned? |
|---|---|---|
| Cashgist Apply | Proof of steady income for the last 3 months; a bank statement showing 3 salary deposits | Not stated |
| Century | Last 3 months’ bank statements (3 salary deposits) | Not stated |
| Creditbar | Regular source of income; self-employed people and pensioners with a regular pension income can apply | Not stated |
| Crediwise | Last 3 months’ bank statements | Not stated |
| Kredio Apply | Proof of steady income; bank statement not older than 3 months | Not stated |
| LendPlus | Last 3 months’ bank statements | Not stated |
| Primeloans | Last 3 bank statements and a payslip | Not stated |
None of the lenders in the table says anything about grants, so the honest answer is “not stated”: ask the lender before you apply, and do not pay anyone to “confirm” your eligibility.
Outside the table, Sunshine Loans is the clearest: its home page says “we cannot help you if the majority of your income is from government benefits”, while its FAQ only asks you to show a regular income stream (28 Oct 2026). If grants are most of your income, treat the stricter statement as the rule until the lender tells you otherwise.
Apply for a loan online in South Africa
See all 9 lendersHighest amount on the list: up to R8 000
- Amount
- up to R8 000from R500
See terms
- Source of the terms
- kredio.co.za · 27 Oct 2026
- Registration
- NCRCP24149 · NCR register
- Application and payout
- decision in 15 min or less · applications 24/7, according to the lender
- Amount
- up to R5 000from R500
- Term
- up to 61 daysfrom 7 days
See terms
- Source of the terms
- creditbar.co.za · 25 Oct 2026
- Registration
- NCRCP23238 · NCR register
- Application and payout
- applications 24/7, according to the lender

JabulaniMoney
Never hand over your SASSA card or PIN
Some people hand their SASSA card and PIN to a lender as security for a loan. Do not. The National Credit Act makes any agreement term that makes you leave an identity document, a bank or ATM card, or a PIN with the lender unlawful, and it bars the lender from using those items to collect (sections 90 and 133). Reports from September 2026 repeat the same warning: holding an ID book, driver’s licence, bank card, PIN or SASSA card as security is a crime, and the loan sharks that do it commonly charge 30% to 50% a month, many times the legal ceiling.
A lender who needs the card has no right to the money in your account. A registered lender collects by debit order, which you approve in your own banking app (DebiCheck), or by an EFT you make yourself. If someone asks for your card, report it to the National Credit Regulator on 0860 627 627 or to the police.
Loans if you are unemployed
A loan needs an income the lender can see. If you have no job and no regular payments into your account, a registered lender is very unlikely to lend, because the affordability check has nothing to measure. What can count:
- Pay from irregular work that reaches your account, such as freelance or informal payments. Lenders read three months of statements. See loans without a payslip for how this works and which lenders list no payslip.
- A salary on a contract that is not permanent. Some lenders ask only for proof of steady income.
- Joint applications. The Regulations mention joint consumers, but none of the seven online lenders mentions joint applications.
Check each lender’s rule on work status. Capfin (PEP loans) says an applicant must be “permanently employed and earning a monthly salary”, so its FAQ lists no route for “PEP loans for the unemployed” (28 Oct 2026).
If your income stopped recently, a new loan is rarely the answer. Talk to your creditors about a payment arrangement first, and avoid lenders that promise loans to the unemployed with no checks: they skip the assessment the law requires, or they are not lenders.
No payslip but money in your account? Read what lenders accept instead of a payslip and compare the documents on each card.
Loans for pensioners
A pension paid by a fund appears on your bank statement like any other income, so for lenders that read statements it can count. Creditbar says that pensioners can apply if they receive a regular pension income. The other lenders on our list say nothing about pensions.
Two limits to know. First, age: Nedbank’s Quick Loan is for people aged 18 to 65, so it is closed above that age (Nedbank, read 27 Oct 2026). Second, other banks set their own age limits and income rules; their terms are on their pages: Absa, Nedbank, Standard Bank.
Whatever the source of income, a registered lender must check that the instalment is affordable. A pensioner who sees an advert asking for a fee up front, a card or a PIN is looking at a scam.
What a small loan costs on a low income
Crediwise lends from R500 and does not publish its rate, term or fees (card, 25 Oct 2026), so the table uses the legal ceiling for short-term credit instead: 5% a month on a first loan. The initiation fee is at the legal maximum (R215 on R1 500), added to the loan; interest runs on the reducing balance; the service fee is R60 a month. Before VAT; indicative sums, not a Crediwise quote.
| R1 500 | 1 month | 2 months | 3 months |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initiation fee | R215 | R215 | R215 |
| Interest | R86 | R130 | R174 |
| Service fees | R60 | R120 | R180 |
| Total to repay | R1 861 | R1 965 | R2 069 |
| Per month | R1 861 | R982 | R690 |
On a small income the fixed fees weigh the most: R215 plus R60 a month is a large share of R1 500. Before you borrow, check that the monthly figure fits what is left after food, rent and transport, and compare the total in the quotation with these numbers. Crediwise shows its documents and payout options on its page.
The cash loans guide shows how other cash loans are priced and which legal category each one falls into.
FAQ
Can I get a loan with a SASSA grant?
It depends on the lender. A grant paid into your account shows on the statement, but none of the seven online lenders on our list says that it accepts grants. Ask the lender before you apply, and compare the lenders that list the documents you can supply on the loans list.
How to apply for a SASSA loan via cellphone?
There is no SASSA loan: SASSA says it provides no loans or other financial products. Offers of a “SASSA loan via cellphone” come from other companies or from scammers. A registered lender takes an application on its own website or app, asks for an ID and bank statements, and shows its NCRCP number. Never send your SASSA card number, PIN or ID to a number that messaged you.
Can unemployed people get a loan in South Africa?
Only with an income a lender can see. A registered lender has to check that you can afford the instalment, and without regular income there is nothing to check. Irregular work paid into your account can count on statements. Read loans without a payslip for the lenders that list no payslip.
Are there loans for SASSA pensioners?
Creditbar says pensioners can apply if they receive a regular pension income. The other online lenders on our list do not mention pensions, and Nedbank’s Quick Loan is limited to ages 18 to 65. A registered lender must still check affordability, so a yes cannot be promised in advance.
Is a SASSA loan WhatsApp number real?
A number that offers a “SASSA loan” is not a SASSA service, because SASSA says it provides no loans. Treat it as a scam unless the company behind it gives a registered name and an NCRCP number that you can find in the NCR register of credit providers. Never pay a fee to release a loan.
Important information
SASSA’s position is taken from press reports of its September 2026 briefing, because sassa.gov.za did not open for our automated check; confirm it with SASSA. Legal references: National Credit Act sections 90(2)(l) and 133 (identity documents, cards and PINs), National Credit Regulations 23A (affordability assessment) and 42 (ceilings for short-term credit). Lender details: Kredio and Cashgist, their websites on 27 Oct 2026; the other lenders, our cards (7 and 25 Oct 2026). The cost table is a ceiling calculation, not a quote.
- Kredio: terms from the lender’s website, as of 27 Oct 2026

