Loan apps with low interest in the Philippines: what “low” really means

Tasamira editorial team · data checked on Oct 30, 2026

Find a lower-cost loan app: learn to read rates per day and per month, see what ₱5,000 costs at published rates and how to pay less.more
MoneyCatMoneyCat
Amount
up to ₱20,000from ₱500
Term
up to 180 daysfrom 65 days

What “low interest” means: daily rate, monthly rate, APR and fees

Apps quote the price in different units (compare them on the loan apps list). Honey Loan publishes 0.4% per day. MoneyCat publishes up to 11.9% per month. Cashalo splits 0.2% daily interest and 0.2% daily service fee. To compare them, convert to one unit: 0.4% a day is about 12% a month (0.4 × 30), and the maximum APR on the cards is 144% for Honey Loan and 145% for MoneyCat (checked Oct 11 to 18, 2026).

Check how interest is charged. Honey Loan’s own example shows it: ₱3,000 for 180 days costs ₱2,160, and 0.4% × 180 days × ₱3,000 is exactly ₱2,160. Interest runs on the full original amount, not on the balance that shrinks as you pay.

The SEC limits what small loans can cost. For small short-term unsecured loans from lending and financing companies it sets ceilings on the effective interest rate including fees, on late penalties and on the total cost, and it recalibrated them in SEC Memorandum Circular No. 14, series of 2025. The current limits and the loans they cover are on the SEC website. For any loan, the Disclosure Statement shows what you will pay.

How an app is registered is a separate question: see our guide to legit loan apps in the Philippines.

The government alternative is priced differently again; see SSS salary loan vs loan apps for the cost on ₱10,000 side by side.

Want the total instead of the rate? Compare loan apps by total cost and filter by your amount and days.

Compare loan apps by total cost: ₱5,000 for 65 days

Same loan for each app: ₱5,000 for 65 days, the shortest term that both Honey Loan (from 61 days) and MoneyCat (from 65 days) allow. The sums are arithmetic on the highest rate each app publishes, without late charges. The exact amount is in your Disclosure Statement. Sorted by estimated cost, not by rating; data from each lender’s site (Oct 11 to 18, 2026), calculated Oct 19, 2026.

LenderPublished rateInterest on ₱5,000, 65 daysTotal to repayEarly repayment
MoneyCat
Get money
Up to 11.9% per monthup to about ₱1,290up to about ₱6,290Allowed; paying early avoids additional charges
Honey Loan
Get money
0.4% per dayabout ₱1,300about ₱6,300Not stated on the card
Finbro
Get money
Rate and processing fee shown in the application, before signingnot publishedsee Disclosure StatementFull repayment on or before the next payment date at no extra cost
Kvikunot published on its cardnot publishedsee Disclosure StatementNot stated on the card

The two apps that publish a rate end up within about ₱10 of each other, so the choice of app changes the price less than the term and the amount do (section 5).

Want the terms behind these numbers? Open the MoneyCat card or see all loan apps side by side.

Online loans in the Philippines

See all 5 lenders
  • Highest amount on the list: up to ₱50,000

    Amount
    up to ₱50,000from ₱1,000
    Term
    up to 12 months
    See terms
    Source of the terms
    finbro.ph · Nov 1, 2026
    More about Finbro
  • Amount
    up to ₱25,000from ₱500
    Term
    up to 135 daysfrom 15 days
    See terms
    Source of the terms
    kviku.ph/cash · Oct 15, 2026
    More about Kviku
  • Longest term on the list: up to 364 days

    Amount
    up to ₱30,000from ₱1,000
    Term
    up to 364 daysfrom 61 days
    Rate
    From 0.4%/d
    See terms
    Source of the terms
    honeyloan.ph · Nov 1, 2026
    More about Honey Loan

Compare loan apps

Three apps to start with. Terms come from each lender’s website, with source and date on its card. The order follows our methodology, not a quality ranking.

  • Finbro: ₱1,000 to ₱50,000 for up to 360 days, paid to GCash, Maya or a bank account.
  • Honey Loan: ₱1,000 to ₱30,000 for 61 to 364 days, from 0.4% per day; says approval usually takes 2 to 3 minutes.
  • MoneyCat: ₱500 to ₱20,000 for 65 to 180 days, paid to a bank account in your name only.

Applying costs nothing and happens in the app or on the lender’s site. Read the Disclosure Statement before you accept.

Set your amount and days on the loan apps list and see which apps offer them.

Hidden costs: processing fee, service fee and what is deducted upfront

The rate is only part of the bill. Ask these questions before you accept:

  • Is a fee taken from the loan? If an app deducts a fee upfront you receive less than you borrowed but repay on the full amount. For illustration (not an app’s fee), a ₱500 deduction on ₱5,000 means ₱4,500 in your wallet. Honey Loan says all its costs are in the daily rate, and Cashalo says it makes no deductions from the amount.
  • Is there a processing fee? Finbro shows its rate and processing fee in the application, not on its site, so the total appears only before you sign.
  • What does a late payment cost? The SEC also sets a ceiling on late penalties for small loans (see the circular above). The penalty clause is in the Disclosure Statement: ask how it is calculated and how often it repeats.
  • Does an extension cost extra? Finbro lets a minimum payment move the next payment date by 7, 14 or 30 days. Ask what that adds to the total.

Compare the total to repay in the Disclosure Statement, not the headline rate.

See the numbers before you commit. The loan apps list shows each lender’s amount, term and rate, and the full cost sits on its card.

How to pay less: shorter term, smaller amount, early repayment

With interest charged per day on the original amount, as in Honey Loan’s own example (0.4% a day), the term and the amount set the price:

LoanInterestTotal
₱5,000 for 120 days₱2,400₱7,400
₱5,000 for 65 days₱1,300₱6,300
₱3,000 for 65 days₱780₱3,780

Cutting the term from 120 to 65 days saves ₱1,100 on the same ₱5,000, and borrowing ₱3,000 instead of ₱5,000 saves another ₱520. Repaying early cuts the cost only if the app charges interest for days used. Finbro says full repayment on or before the next payment date costs nothing extra, and MoneyCat says paying early avoids additional charges. Check the same point for any app you choose.

Pick the shortest term your budget allows. Compare apps that allow early repayment on the loan apps list, or start with the Finbro card.

Check before you borrow: registration and complaints

  1. Find the company name, SEC registration number and Certificate of Authority number in the app’s terms.
  2. Look the company up on the SEC lists of lending and financing companies. A company with only an SEC registration and no Certificate of Authority is not allowed to lend. The numbers on our lender cards are the lenders’ own statements, not yet matched to the SEC lists, so do that step yourself.
  3. Ask for the Disclosure Statement and read the total to repay before you tap accept.
  4. Grant only the permissions the app needs. Collectors must not threaten or shame you, or contact people in your phone other than your guarantors or co-makers.

If that happens, keep screenshots and report it to the SEC; report misuse of your data to the National Privacy Commission. More red flags are in legit loan apps in the Philippines, and speed and payout times are in fast cash loans in the Philippines. Use the loan calculator to test your own amount.

Passed the checklist? Choose a loan app and apply from your phone. The lender decides after its own checks.

FAQ

Which loan app has the lowest interest in the Philippines?

It depends on your amount and term. On our list, only Honey Loan (0.4% per day) and MoneyCat (up to 11.9% per month) publish a rate, and for ₱5,000 over 65 days they come out within about ₱10 of each other (calculated Oct 19, 2026). Other apps show their rate only in the application. Compare the total on the loan apps list.

Is 0% interest real?

No app on our list advertises 0%. If an app does, ask what condition applies, such as a first loan or a short term, and check the total on the Disclosure Statement. A 0% offer with a processing fee still costs money.

How is interest charged: per month, per 15 days or flat?

It differs by app. Honey Loan charges per day on the original amount; MoneyCat quotes a monthly rate. Convert the rate to a total in pesos for your amount and days and compare that.

Can I repay early to pay less?

Sometimes. Finbro says full repayment on or before the next payment date costs nothing extra, and MoneyCat allows early repayment and says it avoids additional charges. Ask any app whether interest stops on the day you pay.

Do low-interest apps need a payslip?

Not always. Honey Loan lists a government ID and a mobile number; Finbro asks for one valid ID, a selfie and regular income; MoneyCat asks for proof of income, proof of address and recent bank statements. A lower rate does not mean fewer documents.

Important information

“Low interest” depends on three things: the rate per day or per month, the term, and whatever the app takes out of the amount before you get it. Apps on our list quote 0.4% per day, up to 11.9% per month, or nothing until you apply, so the headline number tells you little. Cost calculated Oct 19, 2026.

  • MoneyCat: terms from the lender’s website, as of Oct 11, 2026

Sources

Methodology

Spotted an error? Tell us

MoneyCatGet money